Comfort in Cake

This week I had a big disappointment.  I knew it was coming.  I have known for a long while, but I was trying to deny it.  I thought if I let it go for awhile without acknowledging it, it would just go away and leave me alone.  I was able to ignore it for most of the fall, winter, and spring, but now that it is the height of summer, I have to come face to face with it and accept it for what it is.  What is it, you ask?

I am allergic to tomatoes.

There, I said it here and on facebook, so it must be true!  Ha!

Tomatoes are everywhere now.  Kind friends are even giving them to me from their gardens.  I thought, maybe it is not true.  Maybe all those times I felt sick after eating tomato sauce were just, um, wintry blahs or something (nevermind that the last time I had it was a month ago).  Well, after being sick twice this week after eating tomatoes, I think I have to accept that it is true.  And no, I don’t think I can be wrong on this for a variety of reasons that I will not get into here.

I am sad.  Really sad.  There is no lactaid pill for tomatoes.  I think I can maybe have one slice on a sandwich, but I could just be fooling myself there as well.  We’ll find out soon, though, since I had one on my sandwich for lunch today-ha!  The husband thinks I am just harming myself for no reason, but it is very hard to give up those lovely, ripe summer tomatoes.

To make myself feel better this week, I made some more cake.

Blueberry Plum Upside Down Cake.

You can find the recipe here.

I have made this cake several times with a variety of fruit and berries and it is always good.  Thank goodness for cake.  I don’t know what I would do without cake.  It takes the edge off of a lot of hard things in life.  In fact, this one was made on Monday and is gone now.  Also, don’t even think about suggesting that I might be allergic to the cake and not tomatoes.  If you had to choose, which would you choose?  Right, I thought so.  Excuse me, I have to go make some more cake now.

Posted on July 19, 2012, in Baking, Recipe reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Could you talk to an allergist? Maybe there is something you could take… Life w/o spaghetti sauce would be very hard for me. Though there are definitely things that would be worse. A doctor once suggested I might have a gluten intolerance and after 3 weeks of trying it out (ugh) I realized that (1) living without gluten did not solve my problems and (2) even if it DID I could absolutely NOT live without cake and bread and cookies and pasta and all the wonderful gluten-y things in life. So that is just to say that maybe if tomatoes is IT, at least you now KNOW it and if you choose to indulge in a tomato, you do so knowing the potential consequences. That is way better (IMHO) than not knowing what is causing your random issues. I hope your sandwich was no big deal and moderation is the key!!

  2. Well, cake baking is always good – I love the way your blueberry plum upside down cake looks like! The recipe sounds wonderful. Sorry to hear about the allergy though, hopefully things will turn out well for you!

    Take care and have a great weekend!

  3. Sad face…
    When I was younger I used to say that I was allergic to raw tomatoes because I disliked them so…I wasn’t really allergic..I had just never tasted even close to a good one. The ones I had were mealy and tasteless. Even the cherry tomatoes that I had were like little bombs of sour juice. Boy was I in for a surprise when I was convinced by a friend to try one picked, still warm from the sun straight from the garden. I hope Tomato lactaid is invented for you.

  4. Sad! I’m so sorry! I hope you can find the needed comfort in cakes.

  5. I know what you mean about tomatoes. I have some nearly every day, especially on my turkey sandwiches snuggled next to the mayonnaise. The cake looks delicious and I am going to have to replicate this at my house.

    As to your new allergy, I would think about what else you eat with the tomato that night be causing a reaction. But the best thing to do is stay off of the fruit for a week and then have a serving. Make it as plain as possible. If a reaction comes, well, you know. Believe me when I say I feel your pain. I went through the same process when I realized I had to give up milk or suffer debilitating headaches. I choose giving up milk.

Tell me what you think!

