Catching Up

Whew!  I have had a busy past week and half.  I have been doing plenty of baking and stitching, but have not had much time for writing, so I will have to do a little catch up this week.  I did manage to get Friday’s FFwD recipe done on Saturday, though.  It was a really dreary day and not really great for pictures, but there you go.

Salmon with Basil Tapenade

Everyone in my house loves salmon, so we all liked it, though, strangely, I am not sure I will make it again.  It just didn’t have the Wow factor that I was hoping for.  It was easy to make, I will give it that.  Maybe it is because I am not a huge olive fan.  Maybe I was just too tired from my busy week.

Incidentally, though I never posted it, I did write up a post for the FFwD recipe from two weeks ago.  Strange.  Anyway, I’ll include it here.  Keen Doristas will notice that I did not make last week’s recipe.  I just couldn’t get it together that week.  You know how it is.  Maybe one day I will get around to making that blueberry mascarpone roulade.  It looked delicious.

(from a couple of weeks ago)

Ginger has become one of my favorite spices. There is something about the way it is slightly spicy and sweet at the same time that I really like. When I have a sore throat, a spicy, gingery tea is all I need to soothe it.

Because I love ginger, I was intrigued by this week’s ffwD recipe. I like pickled things (usually). I love crunchy food. And lastly, when it is one hundred degrees outside, I really love cold food. Since this dish, Crunchy, Ginger-Pickled Cucumbers was all of these things, I loved it. Most everyone else who had them liked them as well. They are refreshing with a little heat and zing from the fresh ginger.

I doubled the recipe to make it for our fourth of July dinner with friends and it worked out just fine. The leftovers were just as good the next day. I think I will be making this again in the near future since the hot weather is likely to stay with us. I am thinking about adding some other veggies to the mix. What do you think would be good?

Posted on July 23, 2012, in Cooking, French Fridays with Dorie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m with you when it comes to cold food on hot days. I definitely want to try those pickled ginger cucumbers.

  2. I am all about cold food on hot days too – it’s 98 here today so we are having tuna sandwiches and potato salad for dinner – cold, cold, cold. Probably a nice beer too now that I’m thinking of it. The salmon looks yummy – try the mango thing I made next time, it was really yummy and easy to do. I’m not a big olives person either.

  3. No harm, no foul with your playing catch-up. We were out-of-action for two weeks on FFWD so even if you’d have been prompt, you would have had nowhere to do! Just sayin’. I liked the cucumbers and since you also like those little tasty darlings, you might enjoy the recipe I found on food 52 (http://www.food52.com/articles/category/128_genius_recipes) today: Jeffrey Alford & Naomi Duguid’s Spicy Cucumber Salad. I didn’t love the salmon as much as most Doristas but I felt with the 4/6 cooking/roasting combo, it was a little too done for my taste.

  4. Those cucumbers were great and a big hit at the barbeque I brought them to. Catch ups are great – love to see the progression of recipes, along with the reviews.

Tell me what you think!

