Heat Wave + Cotton = Beauty

It’s been hot here.  The sort of hot that makes everything seem shimmery and dreamy.  You just want to lounge around with a glass of iced tea and try not to sweat too much.  This is not the kind of weather that is particularly suitable for crafting or baking.  Wool yarn, in particular gets very sticky and difficult to knit when your hands are sweaty.  Plus, in case you didn’t know, wool is a wonderful insulator, so the longer you knit with it on a hot day, the hotter you feel.  Really.  Don’t get me wrong, I love wool with all my knitterly being.  I would say 95% of the yarn I own is wool, but when it is 95+ degrees outside and so humid the whole world feels like a sauna, wool and I take a break.

Lately, and don’t tell wool this or he might get jealous, cotton and I have struck up a close friendship.  I have been knitting on this nice, cool, lacey shawl out of the ecobutterfly cotton that I got awhile back.  In fact, this is pretty much the only knitting I have worked on for the past several weeks.  The only reason I have stopped knitting on it now is because I have finished it.

IMG_4552

I won’t pretend that this was an easy knit.  The first ten rows or so of the lace pattern almost brought me to tears a couple of times and I had a bit of trouble persevering with it at the end because those garter stitch rows got Super Long and Super Boring, but it was so hot outside, it was the only project I could tolerate.

IMG_4553

The shawl is really long.  It’s over 80 inches long and 18 inches deep.  I can almost wrap it around myself three times.  I love how it gently curves so that there is no pointy “tail” hanging down my back.  It feels elegant and sturdy at the same time.

IMG_4560

This yarn was a pleasure to knit, not something I usually say about cotton, but it was really soft and did not hurt my hands at all.  I was a little sad when I was done with it since we had a lot of pleasant moments together.  I have some more at home that I can use, but right now, I am out of town.  But, that’s ok, because I still have wool.

Wool and I are getting re-acquainted.

IMG_4561

The Olympic games are starting on Friday and I need to get ready for my Ravellenics project.  Of course, it would help if I could decide what to make.  I am torn between making a sweater for myself or mittens for everyone in the family to get a head start on winter.  Or, maybe I should finish something I already have going on, but somehow that doesn’t sound as appealing.  Which do you think I should pick?

p.s.  If you want more details about my shawl project, you can visit my Ravelry page.

Posted on July 26, 2012, in Finished, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

