Summer in a Pie

Every summer for the past 12 years I have made this pie.  It says summer to me more than any other dessert I make.  We all look forward to the time during the summer when fresh nectarines are plentiful, heavy, and flavorful.  Most of us in my family love nectarines more than peaches because there is none of that annoying fuzz.  Also, they seem to me to have more flavor.  Peaches can be bland, but nectarines, even the ones that are not as ripe are packed with flavor.  If a peach is not sweet, it’s almost not worth eating, but nectarines can be a little tart and still be really good, especially in this pie.

Blueberry Nectarine Pie.

I have blogged about this pie before.  It is the husband’s favorite pie and I make it several times each summer.  And we rarely share it.  If I make one to share, I have to make another one right after just for him us.  Over the years, I have adjusted the recipe according to our tastes.  The biggest change I have made is to use tapioca instead of flour and I no longer cook any of the filling ahead of time.  This saves oodles of prep time because you don’t have to wait for the filling to cool and we prefer the clean flavor of the tapioca.  You can find my recipe for the filling here.

This pie almost did not get made in time for Tuesday’s with Dorie this week.  I got a little bit of a cold after coming home from my friend’s house and have basically been sitting around and watching the Olympics any chance I can get.  Oh, all right, I’d be doing that anyway, even if I did not have a cold!  Anyway, I felt better today when I got up and decided to get it done (even if I had to give up watching a little of the Olympic action).

The first thing I did was look in the freezer to see if I had any spare pie crust disks in there.  I had one, but the recipe calls for two, and a one crust pie is not an option in my house, especially with this pie.  It has been some years since I have made the pie crust recipe out of Baking with Julia.  It used to be my go to recipe for pie crust, but I have since developed my own recipe.  This morning, though, I discovered that my buttermilk had to be thrown out, so I used the recipe in the book with a couple of changes.  I used 5 ounces of shortening and 12 ounces of butter.  We like our crusts with more butter around here.  Also, I substituted 8 ounces of the flour for the same amount of whole wheat pastry flour–this way I can say that it is healthy!

Have I said how much we love this pie?  I bet this pie will be gone within 24 hours.  If pie eating were an Olympic event, one of us (I won’t say which one) might win a medal.   If you want to try your hand at this event, go visit this blog and this blog for the original recipe from the book.  Or, you can follow my links above to my altered recipes.

Posted on July 31, 2012, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I love the way recipes morph over time to become one’s own – your changes make a lot of sense. I especially like that you substituted some whole wheat flour. I bet it adds nuttiness as well as the healthy stamp of approval.

  2. looks amazing, I just pinned it!

  3. delicious delicious delicious…one for each photo.
    Thanks for the tip on tapioca….

    Carmen

  4. Gorgeous pie! So delicious looking!! I didn’t cook any of the filling either…I think it an unnecessary step. I make berry and peach pies every summer and I chose to thicken them with cornstarch and tapioca. Nicely done!!

  5. That’s cool you’ve been making it so long! It looks great!

  6. This is the only pie my husband will eat! Love the lattice top. It looks beautiful!

  7. Yummy! I am so surprised … I have never even heard of mixing blueberries and nectarines and here it is your favorite pie for many years. Amazing. Thanks for sharing. Catherine http://www.praycookblog.com

  8. Great job on the lattice! I think next time I’ll try tapioca in my fillling as well.

  9. this pie has really come out good with the lattice.. and its browned so well too!! and i like how u’ve added whole wheat.. am always on the lookout for ways to lessen the amount of plain flour… its just so much healthier!

  10. Your pie looks beautiful – love the lattice! I thought about adding tapioca to the filling but I decided to try it as written for the first time. I will definitely use your suggestions next time though. I could not find regular pastry flour here at all – only whole wheat. Maybe I should buy some of that and start subbing it in like you did….hmmmm

  11. Your pie looks wonderful! And it MUST be delicious since you’ve been making it for so long! Wow!

  12. Wow – this is a pie with traditions! Your pie looks gorgeous and I love the see through filling. Next time, I will skip pre-cooking the fruit too.

  13. Wow, you are a pro! Your pie looks picture perfect!

Tell me what you think!

