Cakes of the Week

Except for a handful of days since this post, I really have had cake everyday.  Some people wonder why I am not as big as a house.  It might be true that I am a little thicker around the middle since my cake-baking craze started this summer, but I try to eat in moderation.  One little piece of cake a day is not so bad if I stay away from all other junk food.  I’ve been trying a new breakfast regime that has been helping me a lot, but I will talk about that another day.

In the meantime, I have cake to show you.

One of my favorite cakes is Red Velvet Cake.  I know using food coloring is controversial, but I make an exception for this cake and for frostings.  Isn’t it a great looking cake?

You can find the recipe here.  I have been making this recipe for years and will probably continue to do so until I can no longer turn on a mixer.

To make the gluten free/egg free guests happy, I also made a vegan chocolate cake from this book.  I used the same frosting and fruit as the red velvet cake.

The cake was a little dry around the edges, but otherwise moist and good.  The only change I made to the recipe was to substitute King Arthur’s GF all-purpose flour for the regular flour.  I will be keeping this recipe around and playing with it for a bit to see if I can make it better.

After sending home leftover cake with various friends, we really only had a little bit of cake left, so I made another one.  This time, I made the Plum Streusel Cake with Toffee Glaze from Ready for Dessert by David Lebovitz.

This cake was a little heavy on the cardamom.  I’d probably cut that in half next time I make it.   Otherwise, it was really yummy.  Have I said how much I love baked plums?  They are really wonderful; tart and sweet and mellow.  The toffee glaze was good enough to eat out of the pot.  It would make a really great topping for ice cream, fruit, yogurt, whatever!

Well, I’m not done with cake yet this week.  Someone in the house is having a birthday next week, so I have to start working on that one.  Good thing I love cake!

Posted on August 23, 2012, in Baking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Why am I thinking of Marie Antonette? (I didn’t even want to try and spell the last name correct.)

  2. The Plum Streusel looks really tasty.

  3. Mmmm. I love red velvet cake. Bring on the red food coloring. I guess that controversy hasn’t hit me yet… Yum.

Tell me what you think!

