The Last of the Peaches

Today, we ate the last of the peaches we picked a couple of weeks ago.  There were five left and yesterday, I peeled them, pitted them, cut off some soft spots and simmered them in leftover bourbon sugar syrup that we had left from canning peaches.

I have never had Peach Melba before, but had heard the name, so I was happy to try this FFwD recipe.  The raspberry sauce was super easy to make and we already had homemade peach ice cream in the freezer.  I also snagged some honey-roasted sliced almonds from Trader Joe’s when I was there this week, which gave a nice crunch to this dessert.  It was pretty easy to assemble with everything done ahead of time and it looked pretty in the bowl.

You’ll notice that I did not make the whipped cream.  Yes, I was lazy.  What can I say?  It’s Friday.  Anyway, the weather has been slightly cooler here, so I was not prepared for the coldness of the dish, but it was super yummy.  Everyone loved it.

Then, I had a brilliant idea.  There was a lot of good peachy vanilla/lemon/bourbon syrup left in the bowl where the peaches used to be.  I half-filled a glass with ice, poured in enough seltzer water to fill it about three-quarters of the way up, and then topped it off with some of that leftover syrup.

Wow!  It was delightful.  I have about two cups of syrup left.  I bet it would be good with a little extra bourbon for the cocktail hour.  Whatever you do, don’t throw away your syrup!

Posted on August 24, 2012, in Cooking, French Fridays with Dorie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Wonderl peach melba, the raspberry sauce is so vibrant! The syrup and seltzer idea sounds great for summer!

  2. I love everything about this post – the peaches you picked, your poaching liquid, the homemade peach ice cream, and your ideas for the leftover syrup. Great job!

  3. I keep thinking the leftover syrup would make a great old-fashioned with the bourbon. Great idea!! Your dessert looks lovely!

  4. No! Must have more peaches! But, that syrup looks heavenly.

  5. THe Peach Melba looks fantastic! I like your idea on how to use the leftover syrup. Have a great weekend.

  6. The leftover syrup was a bonus, wasn’t it?
    your desert looks lovely & frankly, I think the whipped cream would just be a disctraction 🙂

  7. Uh yeah, I didn’t think to do that with my leftover syrup. Bummer. Will need to make again stat. What a great idea!

  8. Love the idea of using the syrup in a spritzer! I could have eaten a dozen of the poached peaches alone, but they were fabulous in this dessert! Yours looks fantastic…I skipped the whip cream, too 🙂

  9. LOVE your spritzer! And your Peach Melba looks marvelous, too~

  10. It is wonderful that you used peaches that you picked (no chance of picking peaches around here, no peach tress, we have to import them from warmer countries) and used your homemade peach ice cream – it all sounds and looks delicious. I am sure that your kids must have loved the Peach Melba, ours did (left the cream off too).

    Have a wonderful Sunday!

  11. I’m not sure what we are going to do with our leftover syrup quite yet, but it is going to be interesting to see what recipes pop up across the blogs that utilize them! 🙂

  12. I was saving my syrup to poach some more peaches in it, but I’m going to pick up some seltzer for spritzers tomorrow. Great idea!

Tell me what you think!

