A Rare Morning

This morning I got up early and I felt actually awake.  This is a rare event for me as I am not a morning person.  I am usually stumbling around the kitchen like a zombie trying not to pour the cereal on the floor or drop the jam jars.  I have always envied people who were chipper enough in the morning to actually make a hot breakfast for their family.  We always have cereal and, a little later, we might have toast.

Today, however was different.  I woke up, couldn’t go back to sleep and strangely, felt wide awake.  After I checked my email, I decided to make something-yay!  There were three plums left on the counter, so I cut those up, tossed them with some sugar and threw them into a dish.

A little batter was made using a couple of eggs, milk, and a little flour.  I popped it into the oven and 40 minutes later we had clafouti.

What’s that, you ask?  Well, it’s kind of a cross between a popover and a pudding.  It’s kinda eggy and soft like a bread pudding, only it doesn’t have any bread in it.  It doesn’t poof up like a popover, but it has the custardy consistency reminiscent of the soft insides of a popover.  It’s yummy warm with a little powdered sugar.  All the photos I took in the early morning were blurry–not enough light, I guess.  Here’s the best one from the afternoon.

It’s still not a clear picture.  Hmm, I wonder if the powdered sugar is doing something to the focus?  Anyway, it was a great way to start the day.  I wish I had more days like this, though I may regret it later.  The boys loved it and I have to say that I was really tempted to eat the whole thing myself, but then my oldest threatened to tell his father on me.  It’s nice that he watches out for other people.

The recipe is from Flour by Joanne Chang.  I halved it, but otherwise followed the recipe.  It was super easy and possibly very doable even if one is half asleep.  I hope to do this again soon, awake or asleep.

Posted on August 28, 2012, in Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Looks Yummy! I think I could make that half asleep too! : )

Tell me what you think!

