Saved by Jeny

Years ago, I made a sweater.  It was for my older son, but unfortunately, by the time I was done with it, he had sort of outgrown it.  No matter.  That is one reason why having two boys is convenient.  I finished the sweater and tried to put it on the younger.  I won’t show you a picture of what happened.  It was not a pretty sight.  There was lots of tugging and hold stilling and stretching.  It was no use.  Can you guess what the problem was?

Yes, the neck opening was too small and, try as I might, it would not go over his head.  I tried ripping out the neck and reworking it.  Nope.  That did not work either.  After muttering something about how big this child’s head was, I stuck it in a bag, rather rudely, I must admit.  It sat there for a couple of years.

Then, I heard about Jeny.  I heard about her a little while ago, mostly having to do with her method for a surprisingly stretch cast on.  I tried that cast on for my last pair of socks and it was brilliant.  After a little more research, I discovered that she also had a surprisingly stretchy cast off.  Hmmm….my mind wandered to that long abandoned, almost finished sweater.  I wondered if it would help.

It took me awhile to get around to it, but today I finally tried it.  It was pretty easy to do, but it looked a little messy.  It was loosey goosey looking, but whatever.  Do you want to see what happened when I put it on my younger son?

IMG_4851

Success!  It went over his head easily and thankfully, the sweater will still fit!  It still needs a couple of ends woven in and a good blocking, but I am really happy that this sweater was saved from the doomed pile.

IMG_4854

He looks great in it, doesn’t he?  Thank you, Jeny, for saving my son’s sweater!

If you need a surprisingly stretchy bind off or cast on, just go to YouTube and search for it.  This one is my favorite video for the cast off.

Posted on September 7, 2012, in Finished, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Beautiful! I am so glad you rescued that sweater!

  2. I just got nominated for a Liebster Award and wanted to pay it forward by nominating you too!
    http://stronglikemycoffee.com/2012/09/08/liebster-award/
    The Rules:

    1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
    2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
    3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
    4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post. Go to their page and tell them.
    5. No tag backs.

Tell me what you think!

