The One Kitchen Gadget I Would Not Like to Live Without

For a person with a small kitchen, I have a lot of kitchen gadgets.  Some are more useful than others.  The ones that are more or less useless sit around for a little while, but eventually get given away.  I don’t have space to harbor a lot of useless items.

But there is one item I would not like to live without.  This one gadget gets used almost daily, lives on my counter, and, if it ever broke, I would go out immediately and buy another one without even blinking at the cost.  Now, I am not talking appliances here.  Mixers and toasters do not fall into the category of gadget.  I am also not referring to anything that is absolutely necessary, such as knives.  Last time I checked, it was pretty impossible to cook a meal from scratch without a knife.  No, I am talking about little tools that are meant to make a cook’s life easier.  But, the one I am speaking of today is has moved from helpful tool to absolute necessity in my book.

It is the kitchen scale.  Here’s what mine looks like.

IMG_4866

I know a lot of people who do not own a scale and still cook great meals, but I will tell you this:  if you get a scale, you will never live without one again, especially if you like to bake.

Recipes can be difficult to follow.  There’s a list of ingredients and you have to assemble them and measure them all out and then you’ve got to prep them and add them in at the right time in the right way.  The scale expedites this process by letting you bypass that legion of measuring spoons and cups that you might use to measure out your ingredients.

Take granola, for instance.  The list of ingredients for granola can be really long and it includes dry stuff like nuts and wet, sticky stuff, like honey and oil.  If I were to measure them all out with cups and spoons, I’d have a lot of dirty stuff to wash at the end of the day and most likely a big mess on the counter.

With the scale, everything goes directly into the bowl.  See?

IMG_4868

Easy peasy.  An added benefit to using a scale is precision.  One person’s scooped cup of flour can be up to 20% different from another person’s cup of flour, but if you use a scale, five ounces is the same no matter who is measuring.  This is especially helpful in baking.  If you find that there is a lot of variation in your baking, you might want to try using a scale.

It’s also great to have a scale if you are on a diet.  I hear that you can weigh your portions so that you can keep an accurate account of how much you are eating.  Of course, this is not something I have direct experience with, but I have heard of and seen people using a scale for this purpose.

I love my scale.  It has come in handy in many ways that have nothing to do with cooking.  I can weigh my yarn with it to see if I have enough for a particular project.  I can weigh an envelope to see what the postage will need to be.  It is also handy for all manner of science experiments and random questions that come up during homeschooling.  It saves me oodles of time and energy.  Strictly speaking, I could live and cook well without a scale, but I wouldn’t like to.

Do you like my scale?  It’s this one made by Oxo.  It has some handy features, like the pull out display in case you’re using a humongous bowl and you can’t read the numbers.  Also, the top plate comes off for easy cleaning.  The zero button is essential and the kg/lb toggle button is handy when I’m using certain recipes with metric numbers.  I have yet to find a use for the lighted display since I do not make a habit of baking or cooking in the dark, but maybe if I took it camping? I get a little annoyed at the auto shut off feature, especially when it turns off right in the middle of weighing something.  That is my only complaint, though and if this one broke, I would go another one in an instant. If you don’t have one, you might want to consider getting one. It might change your life in the kitchen.

Posted on September 13, 2012, in Baking, Cooking, Stuff I Use and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love my scale and have used it religiously since receiving as a present two Christmases ago!

  2. Awww, this looks so fantastic, well done!! =)

  3. I have the same scale and I love it! How did I ever live without it?

Tell me what you think!

