Whole Wheat Loaves, Sweet and Savory

In the past couple of weeks, I have made 8 loaves of bread. I never buy bread anymore, except if it is for a special purpose, such as hamburgers or tortillas. It’s not necessarily because I think that my bread is better than any bread I could buy (some of it is and some of it isn’t), but mostly because I just love baking bread and I also love variety in my breads. Most of the time, I can’t find the variety that I like to have in my bread diet, even at the local artisan bakery. I like playing with different flavor combinations, different mixing methods, and bread from different countries. I find all the different variations of bread around the world fascinating and delicious.

All that being said, I also love having just plain old bread. This week’s twd recipe, Whole Wheat Loaves, fit this bill perfectly. But, of course, since the recipe makes two loaves, I couldn’t help tinkering with one to give me the variety that I like.

IMG_4921

I started by just measuring out all the ingredients into my mixer bowl. With instant yeast, you can do this since it does not require any dissolving or proofing.

IMG_4923

Perhaps my dough was a little stiff, since it was not at all sticky like the recipe said it would be, though it was a nice, smooth dough after its ten minutes of kneading. It rose nicely and in a timely manner, which is really convenient in a bread dough recipe. Actually, I guess that has more to do with the health of your yeast than the recipe itself.

IMG_4925

Next, I shaped one half of the dough for a plain loaf and played with the second half. If you’ve read my most recent posts, you will know that I have a plethora of apples hanging out in my house. I decided to include some in the bread, but, because this was a soft bread, I wanted the apples to be soft as well. While the dough was doing its first rise, I peeled and sliced some apples and sauteed them in a little butter and brown sugar. Then, once it was cool, I spread them out over the other half of the bread dough and rolled it up.

IMG_4927

They baked up pretty well. The loaf on the right is the plain one and is a little smaller.

IMG_4928

I like how a little apple pokes out of the middle of the apple loaf. I can’t tell you how this loaf tasted just yet since I put it in the freezer. We already had too much bread in the bread box and I do not like for any of my homemade bread to go bad, so one of them had to go in the freezer. The plain one got to stay because we have some days this week that need brown bag lunches and the apple bread seemed more like a breakfast bread to me.

IMG_4930

The plain loaf sliced like a dream and was wonderful in our sandwiches yesterday. It has a nice wheatiness, but is also a little sweet from the honey. I used a mixture of stone ground whole wheat and white whole wheat flours and it turned out really well. I can’t wait to try the apple one. It will probably come out later this week or early next week. I’ll let you know.

In the meantime, you might want to try this recipe yourself. It’s easy and tasty. I’ll definitely be making it again. You can find the recipe here and here. Happy baking!

Posted on September 18, 2012, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. The apple swirl in the bread looks great!

  2. What a creative idea to bake in apples!

  3. Wonderful idea to add the apples! Let me know when you slice it, it should be gorgeous!

  4. Adding apples sauteed in butter and brown sugar – what a great idea! Both breads turned out beautifully.

  5. Your bread is beautiful. Can’t wait to see the apple version–I’ll be back.

  6. Wow…you are just a bread making pro!! I can’t wait to hear an update on the apple version…looks delicious!!!

  7. Lovely bread – putting the apples in was a really nice idea.

  8. Ooh that apple loaf sounds yummy! They look delicious!

  9. Your loaves look great! I agree, they slice up wonderfully. I can’t wait to see how your apple bread turned out!

  10. Two wonderful and delicious looking loaves – I must admit that adding wonderful apples to make an “apple bread” sounds so wonderful, I am sure that it will be perfect with a great big cup of tea in the afternoon!

  11. The addition of apples sounds delicious. The perfect accompaniment to tea or coffee.

  12. The apple loaf sounds fabulous! Can’t wait to see what it looks like when you slice into it.

  13. Beautifully done! I wish I had the apple loaf in MY freezer 🙂

  14. Oh, that’s not fair! Showing us how you made apple bread and then freezing it for later. I want some now! Your bread looks great, as usual!

  15. The apples in the bread seems really creative. How will you serve that bread? French toast maybe? I can’t wait to see what that loaf looks like sliced. Will you let me know when you photograph it, I am really curious. Thank you!! Catherine at http://www.praycookblog.com

  16. *sigh* your bread looks so great! I guess I’ll have to try this one again. Maybe I can figure out why mine didn’t turn out as lovely as yours!

Tell me what you think!

