Apple Frenzy

I am sure you have noticed that the subject of most of my posts lately have been about apples, and, if they haven’t been about apples, they probably mentioned the apples at least once. This happens every year and, even though it is a ton of work to get through 5 or 6 or even 7 (some years) half bushel baskets of apples, I know that Fall would not feel right to me without this yearly apple frenzy. In fact, I did have one year while the husband was in grad school when we were unable to find a local pick your own apple farm, and, therefore, we had no bushels of apples. It may or may not have been a major reason why I was unhappy that year. In any case, rain or shine, we pick apples and then I cook like crazy with them for awhile until we all turn into apples–just kidding!

Anyway, this year, I thought I would share with you some of the apple craziness that is happening in the kitchen, so this will begin a series of posts that I will affectionately call the Apple Frenzy Series. In this series, there will be some recipes, recipe reviews, and recipe adaptations that will all feature apples. There might be some other fun stuff, too, like apple bobbing or tossing, I don’t know. You’ll just have to come back and see! The series has no set end date; I’ll just keep going until I run out of apples.

Now, I have already gone over some apple activities with the poached apples that none of us liked and the apple swirl whole wheat bread that was pretty yummy.

The next thing I did was to use my handy dandy apple-peeler-corer-slicer aka the Best Apple tool Ever to peel, core, and slice 15 pounds of apples. All this went into a big pot with a few glugs of apple cider, a few cinnamon sticks, and the juice of 5 lemons to cook until it was all soft and mushy. This took probably about an hour. Then, I fished out the sticks of cinnamon, added a cup of light brown sugar and used my immersion blender to make a slightly chunky applesauce.

Veteran canners will notice that I did not go the usual route for making applesauce, which involves just quartering the fruit, cooking it down, and then putting it through a food mill. This is because of the boys. Inevitably, little bits of skin make it through the mill and it severely hampers their enjoyment of applesauce, so I decided to do it this way this year. Honestly, I think I prefer it. It’s much easier to peel and core the fruit up front when it is cold than wrestle boiling hot cooked apples through a mill, though I probably sacrifice some yield in the process.

IMG_4977

I think we did pretty well, don’t you? 15 pounds of apples made 9 pints of applesauce, with a little leftover for the boys to scarf down. I only got a spoonful and the poor husband was at work, so he didn’t get any. Oh well, he’ll get some in a few months when we open the first jar!

Next time: Savory Apples and a non-apple recipe

Posted on September 27, 2012, in Canning, Family Fun, Recipe and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

