Sweet and Sour Go Together

What happens when you have 100 pounds of apples and you have to feed the sourdough monsters in the fridge? Well, I will tell you.

First, you will troll the internet looking for recipes that combine sourdough and apples. After a quick search, you will only find one, this one. It looks pretty good, so you will decide to try it.

The only problem is that it only uses about half the sourdough starter that you have to discard and, if you are like me at all (crazy, I know), you will take another recipe and combine it with yet another one in order to use up some apples.

This is how I came to make Apple Sourdough Flatbread

IMG_5001

and Apple Sourdough Popovers all in one day.

IMG_5028

Let’s take these one at a time. The dough for the flatbread was beautiful. I love a recipe that just basically says to dump all the ingredients in a bowl and mix. I just let the mixer do its thing until the dough looked like this.

IMG_4992

The apples were cooked in the microwave which was super easy and then sprinkled on top of the dough after it had had its first rise and was shaped in the pan. There was supposed to be a cinnamon sugar drizzle on top, but I was afraid everything would be too juicy, so I added some clearjel thickener to it and it became gloppy. I had to kind of spread it around instead. I made up for it by sprinkling cinnamon sugar over everything.

IMG_5005

It all worked out and it was delicious. The dough was not too sour and offset the sweetness of the apples perfectly. We had it for breakfast, with soup for lunch, afternoon snack, and bedtime snack. Basically, we ate it any chance we could until it was all gone. It only took us a day and a half. Methinks I will have to make this again.

Next, Let’s talk about the Sourdough Apple popovers. For the batter, I used this recipe, but I had to double it to use the starter I had left, which gave me more batter than I could use at once, but I will get to that problem in a minute. In my mind, I had visions of dutch babies, only mini sized. After the success of using ramekins in my twd popover adventure, I decided to use them again. I arranged them on my pan, put a little butter in each, and popped the whole thing into the oven to melt the butter.

IMG_5025

Next, I cut up two apples and divided them among the ramekins. They went back into the oven to cook and soften up.

IMG_5027

Twenty minutes later, I added the batter. Then, I baked them in my usual popover way: 425 degrees for 20 minutes and then 375 degrees for 15 minutes. The first batch rose beautifully, though not as high as popovers without apples. The apples clearly weighed them down because they were sort of colapsed in the middle, but everyone loved them. Sweet apples, soft, eggy filling, and a subtle tang of sourdough all went together to make a most delicious popover/dutch baby. You can call it whatever you want, we just called it delicious, especially when dipped in maple syrup.

There was some batter leftover, but we were all too full to eat anymore, so I just stuck it into the fridge for another day. Two days later, I repeated the whole process, but it did not turn out the same way. They were more muffin-like and did not really “popover” at all. These are the ones you see in the photo at the beginning of the post. (We devoured the first batch before I got a chance to take any photos.) I attribute this to the sourdough eating up some proteins or sugars or something. They were also a little more sour than the first batch. I was a little disappointed, but no one really complained and everyone ate them just fine. Still, next time, I will just bake them all the same day and maybe cut back on the apples just a little to see if I can keep them from collapsing.

I have a feeling that this might not be the last time I combine apples and sourdough. If I can get to it before the apples run out, I may try my hand at a Pain Normande.

Next: TwD meets apple frenzy

Posted on October 1, 2012, in Baking, Recipe reviews, Sourdough and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Those look fabulous, I think I will give that recipe and try.

  2. Amazing- I keep a SD starter also- will definitely try your wonderful recipes. Thank you.

  3. Ah, apples. The epitome of fall baking in my eyes. This looks delicious.

Tell me what you think!

