King Arthur’s New Flour and a Bonus Giveaway!

Baking is fun and tasty, but it does take work and a fair amount of precision and planning. Even very competent bakers can balk at the work required to make biscuits from scratch or a cake for dessert because lack of time or energy. At the same time, I am not the sort to use box mixes. At all. I know, I’ve probably made myself look like a food snob now, but honestly, I just don’t think that boxed mixes are as good and I usually do not mind the extra time it takes to make something from scratch.

But, what if there were a way to have the best of both worlds? Convenience and great flavor?

A few weeks ago, I was contacted by a representative of King Arthur Flour and offered a bag of their new self-rising flour in exchange for a blog review. I had seen the flour on the site when it debuted and would have bought some in the grocery store had I found it. However, it had not reached my local stores yet and I was intrigued enough by this product to agree. Please know that, other than the flour they sent me, I have not been given any incentive to provide a biased review. This post contains my honest opinion of King arthur’s new self-rising flour.

Self-rising flour has always seemed of limited use to me. You can’t control how much leavening power you have and most recipes here in the states just don’t use it. However, I had recently discovered a couple of British recipes that looked good, but called for self-rising flour. I happened to have a really old bag in the pantry and I tried it for the first time in a cake. You can see the results here. I suppose you could say that this is what triggered my curiosity in self-rising flour.

When I got the bag of KASR flour, I thought awhile about what I would make with it. I didn’t want to just try one recipe and base my whole review on that. Flour is used for so many things; biscuits, cake, muffins, cookies, etc. I wanted to make sure I tested it out thoroughly enough to be able to give an informed opinion. I also was curious, not just about how the self-rising flour would taste, but how it would compare to my usual recipes. Thus began a whole bunch of baking and testing in the kitchen.

Hmmm…where to begin?

Well, let’s begin with a couple of stand-byes or things that I think most people might use self-rising flour for. The first on the list would probably be pancakes. I used the recipe that was printed on the bag. I figured, why try to reinvent the wheel, right?

The first thing I noticed was the fluffiniess of the batter. It was seriously thick. How did they cook up? Take a look.

IMG_5108

Ok, I know, it’s blurry. But, can you see how fluffy they are? Here’s a better view.

IMG_5110

Seriously, these are the fluffiest pancakes I have every made. They tasted great, too. The husband kept saying how they tasted like restaurant pancakes, which could be good or bad, depending on the restaurant, but I think he meant it as a compliment. Honestly, I think that the recipe could have used a little more fat. They tasted a little lean to me, but were really good otherwise. Strangely, they also seemed to soak up more maple syrup than my usual recipe, maybe because they were a thicker. They held up well to reheating, too, according to the husband, who took the leftovers to work to eat for breakfast.

Next, I decided to try some biscuits. This time, I used the same recipe for two batches of biscuits, except for one batch I substituted the self-rising flour for the all-purpose flour, salt, and leavening.

IMG_5035

They look almost identical, don’t they? The one with self-rising flour is on the right. I do think they were fluffier and seemed to almost melt in the mouth. We all liked them very much, but had to admit that we preferred the sturdier texture of my normal biscuits. At the same time, I really think that if you like a fluffy biscuit, this flour is just the ticket for you.

Coincidentally, in the same meal, I was trying out a new easier fried chicken recipe. When I looked at the recipe, I noticed that it called for the chicken to be dredged in a flour/baking powder mixture. That’s when I decided to do another side by side test. I dredged half of the chicken in the recipe’s flour mixture, and the other half got the self-rising flour treatment.

IMG_5031

Again, self-rising flour is on the right, along with its biscuit. Honestly, I wasn’t sure how this one would turn out. I wondered if we would even be able to tell the difference with all the frying and then baking that the chicken had to go through. But, there was a difference. The coating on the regular flour fried chicken was crunchier, harder, and seemed to separate from the chicken more easily. The chicken with the self-rising flour seemed to be coated in a thin layer of crunchy biscuit, but it was softer and tasted more savory somehow. Here, the self-rising flour chicken came out as a clear favorite. It was some of the best fried chicken that we have ever had and left us wanting more, more, more!

Ok, now let’s consider the most delicate of all baking tasks: the cake. Most people don’t think of cake as something that is quick to make or even something that one wants to eat everyday. This is not really the case for me, at least not recently. Since early summer this year, I have probably made cake at least once a week. Lately, I have found that if I go more than a few days without a piece of cake, I start to really feel as if there is something missing in my diet. I am not talking about fancy layer cakes with frosting and all that jazz. No, almost all of the cakes I have been making for the last few months have contained some sort of fresh fruit; blueberries, cherries, apricots, nectarines, plums, pluots, and, now, apples. I seem to have developed an obsession with cakes that have fruit baked in, on top, or on the bottom.

When I went into the kitchen to try out the KASRF with a cake, I decided to do an apple upside-down cake with the simplest of cake batters. The apples are given a precooking in the cake pan in the oven to get them to soften a bit.

IMG_5013

While the apples were doing their thing in the oven, it was quick work to get the cake batter together. In order to make this recipe as simple as possible, I did everything by hand with just a spatula and a bowl.

IMG_5017

With soft butter, it is easy to cream the butter and sugar together.

IMG_5014

After stirring in the eggs, it is time to stir the flour in the mix. At first, it seemed like it might be too much.

IMG_5019

But it soon smoothed out into a nicely textured batter. I spread it over the warm apples in the pan. It just barley covered them and I was a little worried that it would not be enough.

IMG_5022

The cake baked up beautifully.

IMG_5023

But, how did it taste?

IMG_5024

In a word: delicious. The texture was soft and fluffy; definitely lighter than all-purpose flour. The crumb was looser than a cake flour cake, but just as fine. It was a very spongey cake; the type that you can push down on with your finger or fork and it will spring back up when you release. Maybe that’s why these plain cakes are often called sponges in Britain. I took a couple pieces to friends to try out. One of them said that she would never have guessed it was made from self-rising flour. It had none of the artificial texture or flavor that a boxed cake often has.

Was it really easier to make, you ask? I think it was. It took me less than 10 minutes to make the cake batter. Of course, my butter was already soft from sitting out for a couple of hours, but you can also stick it in the microwave for a minute at 50% power to achieve similar results.

So, here’s the verdict on the new King Arthur Self-Rising Flour from this house:

Thumbs up!

The KASRF performed wonderfully in fried chicken and made a super easy and deliciously light cake. The biscuits and pancakes were also good, though if I have the time, I would probably take the extra few minutes to make my preferred recipes. That being said, if I were are short on time or just having a lazy moment, I wouldn’t hesitate to use it. If you’d like to be able to bake fabulous biscuits, cakes, and other goodies without all the hassle of measuring and worrying about the finished product, this flour is definitely for you. We were not at all disappointed with the flour and, at times, we felt that we were sort of splitting hairs when discussing it. The deliciousness of the fried chicken alone would induce me to always have a bag of this in the pantry. But, don’t take my word for it. Try it yourself!

There are a number of good looking recipes on their website to try out or you can try the one I have included below. We are not done testing out the self-rising flour. I have plans to use it to teach the boys how to do some of their own baking. My hunch is that SR flour is Really Great for kids.

P.S. Don’t forget to leave a comment to win a jar of apple butter here!

P.P.S. I just got a message from a King Arthur Representative and they are offering to send a bag of Self Rising Flour to one of you! Eeek, aren’t you excited? Ok, so leave a comment on this post by midnight EST on Wednesday, October 17, and I will randomly pick someone to try out this flour (US residents only–sorry!). Fun!

Next: FFwD meets Apple Frenzy

Super Easy Apple Upside Down Cake

2 apples, peeled, cored, and sliced into 1/2 inch wedges
2 Tablespoons soft butter
2 Tablespoons light brown sugar

1 stick (4 ounces) soft butter
1/2 cup plus 1 Tablespoon (4 ounces) white sugar
2 large eggs (4ounces), room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 scant cup (4 ounces) KA self rising flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spread the two tablespoons of soft butter into a 9 inch cake pan. Arrange the apples on top and sprinkle with brown sugar. Bake in oven to soften the apples for 15-20 minutes.

Meanwhile, using a rubber spatula, beat the 4 ounces of soft butter with the sugar in a large bowl until it is light in color and a little fluffy. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Stir in the vanilla extract. Fold in the flour and stir gently until it is all incorporated.

Remove the cake pan from the oven. Using the spatula, scoop the batter on top of the apples and carefully spread it out to the edges of the pan. Bake until the center of the cake comes clean on a cake tester, about 30 minutes.

Let the cake cool in the pan for a couple of minutes, then place your serving plate on top and turn it over. You can serve it warm or at room temperature.

Serves about 8.

Posted on October 11, 2012, in Baking, Family Fun, Recipe, Recipe reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Very good review. I use SR flour all the time, so it was interesting to read about your POV. Well done and lovely baking!

  2. Those are some fluffy looking pancakes!

  3. The only pancakes I can get to look like those are from the Barefoot Contessa recipe that seems to be half sour cream. Those you made with the KASR have the same thick and fluffy look with vertical sides please both my eye and my palate. I will be delighted to try this “on the bag” recipe for the lower fat content while maintaining the perfect pancake look.

    I have a corn pudding recipe that uses SR and I bet the texture will be even softer yet sturdier after reading your review.

  4. All those recipes look fantastic!

  5. All your baked goods look delish!

  6. mm, those pancakes do look extra fluffy!
    m8usi at yahoo dot com

  7. The results look pretty promising. Most of my baking end up flat and unappealing.

  8. I have gained 5 lbs just by looking at your recipes 🙂 thansk

  9. All the recipes look wonderful, I will share your recipes to my sister and friend.
    Those Pancakes make me so hungry.

  10. I’m interested in the the new KA self rising flour too–especially for cakes– so I just baked your apple cake for dessert. It’s a very homey simple cake and my husband and son both liked it. As you mentioned, the batter is rather skimpy when covering the apples but we made do. I wonder if the cake might benefit from increasing the batter quantity by half again…? Anyway, I will keep watching your blog for more KA Self Rising testing. Thanks for sharing your results.

Tell me what you think!

