Birthday Bagels

The husband loves bagels, especially homemade bagels. So, I was happy that bagels made it on to the schedule for Tuesdays with Dorie, and it was just in time for his birthday last week, too!

This recipe is the first recipe I ever followed for bagels and it was love at first bite.  The dough itself is not too hard to make; dump it all in the mixer bowl and let it mix away.  I was cautious with the flour this time because I didn’t want to have a repeat experience with my mixer.  So, I made sure my final dough was a little softer than I would usually make my bagel dough.

IMG_5146

After the dough’s first rise, I departed from the recipe a bit.  To save time in the morning, I shaped my bagels after the first rise, placed them on parchment sheets, covered them with plastic wrap, and let them rise like this in the fridge overnight.  This makes for a lighter textured bagel, but also saves me shaping them in the morning and getting flour all over the place when I am half asleep.

IMG_5160

The boiling part is pretty easy.  I used barley malt syrup and only boiled them for about 30 seconds per side.  I’ve found over the years that the longer you boil a bagel, the tougher the skin/crust becomes once you bake them.  I love crusty bagels, but I don’t like fighting with them, so this just makes the bagels easier to chew and saves on jaw pain.

IMG_5150

When I ordered the high-gluten flour from King Arthur, I also ordered their everything bagel topping mix.  It was really great!  Also, I baked the bagels for 5 minutes less  than the recipe stated and just took them out when they were done, skipping that part where you leave the door partially open.

IMG_5153

I thought they turned out well.  Have I said yet that we love these bagels? These were lighter than most bagels that I have made, probably because of the looser dough, but we all loved them. Everyone was sad when they were gone.

IMG_5155

Bagels are not too hard to make; they just require the extra step of boiling.  Why don’t you try them?  The recipe is here.  I’m going to make them again, but this time, I may try to flavor the dough.  How about some Cinnamon Apple bagels?

I forgot to announce the winner of my Apple butter giveaway yesterday. It’s Bevwinchester who said, “When my boys were young; I would make a simple apple butter in the fall- they loved it & would help me in the kitchen! Good times for sure- now they are 30 & 34 years old!” I’ll be sending Beverly a jar of my caramelized spicy apple butter later today. Thanks to everyone who came by!

Don’t forget that King Arthur is going to send a bag of their new self rising flour to one of my readers.  Leave a comment here by midnight EST tomorrow (10/17) to enter.

Posted on October 16, 2012, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. Yours look fantastic and I appreciated your technique advice from the TWD pages! Thanks for your expertise! I loved this recipe!

  2. I took your advice and boiled mine for less time and I loved how they turned out! Thanks for all the tips in the P & Q! And your bagels look delicious! I’m definitely going to be making them again too!

  3. I agree; thanks so much for sharing your bagel advice! I doubt I would’ve tried making bagels if it weren’t for the TWD group, but I’m glad that I did. Yours look absolutely perfect!

  4. Absolutely perfect bagels – I love the toppings! And thanks for giving all the good advice in this post and in response to the questions from other members of the TwD group – I found all your pointers very helpful! What a terrific birthday treat indeed!

  5. Your bagels look perfect! Great for a birthday!

  6. Yes, thank you so much for your pointers! I thought the boiling time was perfect – I prefer a softer outside rather than crusty one, and the 30-seconds per side method worked great. Hopefully with a little mor practice, my bagels will be as lovely as yours are!

  7. Happy Birthday to your husband! Such a nice way to celebrate his birthday by baking bagels! They turned out more than well 🙂

  8. Thanks for all your great tips. Your bagels turned out great! I’m still laughing about your previous adventures in bagel making. Glad to hear that you didn’t have a repeat experience.

  9. Thanks for all the tips. I’ll put some of them to use the next time I make bagels. I really enjoyed these. And they were much easier than I expected given the length of the recipe.

  10. I love that last photo. Beautiful job on your bagels!

  11. Your bagels are so lovely! I think need to make some now!

  12. Happy Birthday to your husband! This looks like a great birthday treat 🙂

  13. Your bagels looks so perfect! Thanks for the tip of forming the bagels the night before – a time saver to say the least!

  14. Wow, those look fantastic! But, I guess you can’t expect anything less from a Bagel Master (do they give degrees in bagel mastery? Hmm…)

  15. I adore the topping on your bagels, and cream cheese and lox is the perfect filling.

  16. good idea to shape them the night before as well. love your seedy topping!

  17. I love bagels as well! Never thought of making them myself. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  18. Where’s the candle? Just joking, they look delicious and wonderful as they are!

    Sorry that I’m late!
    Tonight I’ve started this delicious „tour des blogs“ to see how the 85 bagels turned out.
    I had great fun making and bathing and baking them and will remake them for sure.

  19. I have to agree – slightly less time did help the bagels.
    Yours look wonderful!

Tell me what you think!

