Never Too Early

We are still in the throes of cookie dough making and baking. Things have slowed down a tad as orders have slowed down. Plus, our freezer is so full of cookie dough that I am almost afraid for my life every time I go to open it. That will get better as orders are delivered and shipped out.

In the meantime, I just had to take a break from cookie dough and make something else that has been on my mind.

Sea Salt Caramels.

IMG_5387

I used this recipe and it worked beautifully. The boys kept saying they were the best caramels they have ever had. We took them around with us while delivering orders yesterday and offered them as samples. Perhaps next year we will have a new section for our fund raiser: candy!

Or maybe not. I’m thinking more along the lines of Christmas presents right now. I know it seems early, but it is coming soon and I like to be prepared. Plus, making these little cut out kits reminds me that Christmas is drawing near.

IMG_5386

Holiday shortbread shapes.

IMG_5385

Gingerbread framily shapes.

We still have a couple of sets for sale. Each box comes with 11-15 cookies and little royal icing mix that includes a disposable piping bag. Secretly, I might be hoping that we don’t sell out so that I can use them, but, really, I can make more. And I probably will anyway. It’s never too early to get ready, right?

Posted on November 8, 2012, in Baking, Family Fun, Holiday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I think it’s never too early. I love how your gingerbread shapes look. If I Lived nearby I would definitely get some.

Tell me what you think!

