One Fell Swoop

Well, in the craziness of the past month or so, with trips, hurricanes, cookies, and holidays, I have had very little time to cook, much less keep up with my French Fridays with Dorie recipes. While I would not have made all of them (uh, olives are not my thing), there were a few I did really want to do, and I did manage to squeeze them in here and there. So, here I am catching you up all in one fell swoop.

Firstly, Chicken Tagine with Sweet Potatoes and Prunes. This was a good one. Everyone loved it, even the boys. Unfortunately, I have no photo. It was so long ago, I barely remember making it. I think we were in the middle of cookies. It will definitely be made again.

The next one I did was the Goat Cheese Mini Puffs. It’s been a long time since I have made pate a choux. I think I forgot how easy it was, and the freeze ahead trick was brilliant! I made the puffs the night before our Thanksgiving meal and stuck them in the freezer.

IMG_5441

It was a short task the next day to bake them and make the filling. Unfortunately, my puffs did not stay puffed like this.

IMG_5445

It was kinda hard to fill them with the filling, so some of them still look deflated. They sure did taste good, though, if you like goat cheese, which I do. Maybe if I baked them a little longer, they would not have deflated? I’ll have to try them again with some of the dough still in the freezer.

IMG_5449

About two hours before our turkey was to be served, I decided to add Top-Secret Chocolate Mousse to our dessert menu. It really took less than 15 minutes to prepare, though it made more dishes than I would have liked for a last minute thing. (See how lazy I am?)

IMG_5444

Anyway, I got scared because when I added the first egg yolk to the chocolate, it seemed like it was going to seize up, but it was nice and smooth by the third one. Stirring in the first little bit of egg white was the same way–scary. But, by the end of the folding it looked alright.

I stuck it in the fridge and we had it along with out apple dumplings and sea salt caramel coconut ice cream a few hours later. If you’ll remember my post about the Best Ever Brownies, I am not a good judge of chocolate desserts. I liked the mousse just fine, especially since it was dairy free and I could eat it without getting sick. The husband thought that it tasted good, but did not have the same melt-in-your-mouth texture as mousses made with cream. It was kind of spongier than I remember mousses being, but it was also lighter on the palate, which is nice after a big meal, such as Thanksgiving Turkey Dinner. While I am not likely to make it again soon, if I ever do get a hankering for chocolate mousse, this will be the recipe I use, simply because it is dairy free. If the husband wants mousse, I’ll make a different recipe or, possibly better yet, send him to a restaurant.

Phew! That’s me all caught up on FFwD (except for the olives and quiche). That’s a load off my mind! Now, I have to get ready for this week’s recipe. Stay tuned!

Posted on November 27, 2012, in Baking, Cooking, French Fridays with Dorie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Whew, indeed. Good round up 🙂

Tell me what you think!

