Not My Cake

I love gingerbread. I was looking forward to making this week’s Baby Gingerbread cakes. It promised to be a good one with lots of ginger, a little cocoa, some coffee, and lots of molasses.

IMG_5540

Wow. The amount of molasses was staggering. 2 cups. Oh, well, I like molasses and I was using the mild stuff, so I thought it would be ok.

IMG_5542

But, I was wrong. Firstly, there was so much molasses that the batter never really smoothed out.

IMG_5543

I baked the large version, the one in a ten inch pan because I was taking it to a meeting, and I don’t much like fussing with individual sized portions most of the time. I even sprinkled a little extra candied ginger on top before baking it.

IMG_5559

It did not help, really. Even though I baked it for 70 minutes and the tester came out fine, the middle was underdone; more like molasses with a little ginger. Actually, I couldn’t even taste the ginger. After one bite, I proclaimed it a deep, dark, disaster. Only one person liked it. She said it was a distinctly new england flavor. Well, I have never lived in new england, so I don’t have any experience with that. If this sounds like something you would like, here’s the recipe. All I have to say is that I am really glad it wasn’t my birthday cake.

IMG_5557

My birthday cake, Maple Walnut Pear Upside Down Cake, was exponentially better. The husband made it for me. Isn’t he the best?

Now, you know what I am going to have to do, don’t you? I am going to have to make my favorite gingerbread cake for you. Watch this space.

Posted on December 5, 2012, in Baking, Holiday, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oh no! Sorry this wasn’t a hit for you.
    The pear cake does look pretty amazing though. Happy birthday!

  2. Oooh! A favorite gingerbread cake? I can’t wait!

  3. I was so excited to be trying this recipe too. But like you, I was disappointed in the end result. I will have to keep looking for a perfect gingerbread recipe.

  4. Now why did your candied ginger stay atop your cake and my pear star sunk in? Your cake looks beautiful and I like the idea of candied ginger. The cake your husband made looks beautiful too and sounds delicious! Looking forward to your posting of your favorite gingerbread. 🙂

  5. Sorry this wasn’t a hit with you…we loved it in my house. I baked it in small pans and they seemed to come out perfect! Your cake does look good!

  6. I’d definitely go with the maple pear walnut cake!

  7. Happy birthday!!! Sorry this gingerbread wasn’t for you. I made the little ones and had one for dessert last night and liked it even better after it had sat overnight wrapped in Saran. Maybe it made the flavor mellow out a little?

  8. I agree it wasn’t that great. I’m glad your birthday cake was good though!

  9. Pear walnut cake sounds so delish…sorry this gingerbread cake did not work for you. I think that the warm lemon sauce and whipped cream I added balanced the flavors…your complaint is common for this recipe which is good to know…I won’t make it for company.

  10. Have you posted the recipe for Maple Walnut Pear Upside Down Cake? It looks fabulous! Maple Walnut Pear Upside Down Cake

Tell me what you think!

