Day 6: Cake or Bread?

Some call Kugelhof a mix between a pound cake and a bread. I have made several recipes over the years and they have all seemed more bready to me than cakey. In fact, it kinda just seemed like raisin bread baked in a fancy mold.

IMG_5648

Until now.

I thought I had made this kugelhof recipe from this book before, but now I am starting to think I must have been mistaken. The texture of this one is not the same as the others in the past. It really is like cross betwen a pound cake and a bread. It has a fine, dense crumb, like a pound cake, but it doesn’t melt in your mouth. There is a slight chewiness to remind you it is a yeast bread, but not as much elasticity as you would expect from bread.

IMG_5651

It is surprisingly good. I was glad, too, that I liked it because, frankly, this is the fourth bread this week with dried fruit in it, and, as much as I love them, I was beginning to feel a bit over-fruited. I have heard that, traditionally, people dip the bread into their coffee when they eat kugelhof. I haven’t tried that, but I do know that it is really good alongside a cup of tea or coffee.

IMG_5652

This bread hails from France. You can find a great recipe here. Try it. You will not be disappointed.

Also, don’t forget to leave a comment during my 12 Days of Christmas Breads series to win a box of Christmas Treats from me. You can enter one comment per post for a total of twelve entries per person. Facebook posts and “likes” don’t count. So, keep the comments coming here on the blog!

Posted on December 15, 2012, in Baking, Holiday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. What a pretty shape! Time for another Nordic Ware order….

  2. Paige Eickelberg

    I love pound cake and I love raisin bread. This sounds like a winner to me!!!!

  3. I love pound cake….raisins might take some convincing, lol!

  4. I’m trying to imagine the texture in my mind… and it’s pure deliciousness!

  5. Wow looks so good! Never tried to make kugelhof yet. I want to try your recipe as my starting point.

  6. This is so amazing. I have never tried it but you make me definitely want to try. Looks like it would be perfect for Christmas morning.

  7. I am definitely going to make this — it looks like something we would really enjoy! Thanks for sharing!

  8. I’ve heard of Kugelhof before, but never tried it myself. I’m glad to hear it tastes good 🙂

Tell me what you think!

