Day 7: Filled Pancakes

Ebelskivers. That’s what these tasty filled pancakes are called. I have read that they are very popular in Denmark for the holidays and I can see why.

IMG_5667

They can be filled with just about anything you have on hand: jam, cheese, ham, nutella, caramel sauce, chocolate, fruit. I usually make mine with several different kinds of jam. The only downside is that you do have to have this special pan.

IMG_5665

Today, after all the sweet stuff of the week, I was in a more salty mood, so there were more savory ones than usual. It is a little tricky to flip them over and master the nuances of how much batter and filling you can put in without having things leak all over.

IMG_5669

They are wonderfully fluffy and poppable. It is very easy to eat more than one really should, especially when there are so many different kinds to choose from, but it is worth every tasty bite.

Posted on December 16, 2012, in Cooking, Holiday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Those look drool worthy! You are such an amazing cook!!

  2. These Ebelskivers of yours look wonderful and delicious – unfortunately I do not own a specialty pan for them but now I think I should because I am very sure that my kids would adore them!

  3. Moving on and letting go.

    I am from Denmark and make these every year and they look delicious! I’ve never tried filling them with anything though. Maybe I should!

    Fun fact: In Danish they are called ‘æbleskriver’ (pronounced ebelskivers). Translated to english that means ‘apple slices’. Just thought of that today and found it pretty funny. Maybe that’s what people used to fill them with, who knows? 😉

  4. How fun and tasty looking!

  5. I really want an Ebelskiver pan now!

  6. We’ve always made our ebelskivers as a sweet breakfast treat. I’ve never thought to make them savory! What exactly did you fill them with?

  7. Man, these look good. I think they’d be fab filled with jam for breakfast.

  8. At Ingebretsen’s in Minneapolis, MN, I saw the electric version demonstrated. The most useful tip I got from watching the cookbook author making them was how she turned them. The traditional tool, according the all the folks in the shop, is a metal knitting needle!
    http://www.ingebretsens.com/aebleskiver-maker-electric.html

    Ingebretsens also has the pans to go on the stovetop. I visit this store every time I’m in Minnesota.

  9. Paige Eickelberg

    I guess these would be a little much to make for Framily brunch!!! Wonder what they would taste like with a whipped cream and blueberry filling.

  10. I have an Ebelskiver pan I bought through Amazon. I made them once and they didn’t turn out so well and I haven’t done it again. I will get out the pan and give it a retry!

Tell me what you think!

