Friday Catch Up

Well, I hope that you have all had a wonderful week. Ours has been busy with all the work and celebrating that goes with big holidays. We had the bonus excitement that comes with a white Christmas. Baking cookies on Christmas Eve with snow softly falling outside is a memory I would like never to forget. It was gone the next day, but, surprisingly, we got more on Boxing Day. There is nothing like sledding to tire little boys out. Now, I am ready to relax for a few days and catch up on sleep (which I am a bit short on right now), movie watching, and playing games with the boys.

First, though, I am going to catch up on December’s FfwD recipes. In the midst of all the other holiday baking, I did manage to squeeze in cooking all the FfwD recipe for December. The Saturday before Christmas, we went to the grocery store and I came home with a nice big piece of celery root.

IMG_5734

I have never before prepped, cooked, or eaten this particular veggie before, so I was curious about how it would taste. The prepping part was surprisingly hard, but I have weak hands. There was quite a lot of banging involved with cutting up this big root ball, but I did manage it eventually. What surprised me after all that work, was that the pieces floated in the water! The potato pieces sank to the bottom of the pot, but the celery root bobbed at the top like apples.

IMG_5735

Generally, I try to avoid creamy things and since I planned to serve the puree with the Pork (not chicken), apples, and cream a la normande, I boiled the potatoes and celery root in salted water instead of milk. Speaking of pork, this recipe turned out to be as nice and easy as everyone said it was. I mixed in some sage in the flour as Dorie suggests in the Bonne Idee section and it did make the pork look prettier, as well as smell wonderful.

IMG_5736

I added some leftover bacon that was lying around to the sauce at the end, and we all agreed that it was a nice addition to the otherwise creamy sauce. The sauce was great over the celery root puree. Only one of use did not like the puree, but that same kid does not care for celery, so that was not a surprise. I liked that the puree tasted lighter than traditional mashed potatoes. It would definitely go with everything, as Dorie suggests.

IMG_5738

After all this, it was pretty easy work to make the Cheese-it-ish crackers. I rolled out the dough while it was still soft and then froze it. On Christmas Eve, while I was baking a thousand (it seemed) cookies, I snuck a pan of crackers in the mix to have as a savory snack among the sweetness.

IMG_5719

I used a mild, shredded cheese mix that I had in the fridge, and added smoked paprika to the dough. They baked up prettily, and everyone liked them, especially the husband, who probably wouldn’t care if he never saw another cookie for a year. I wonder how these would taste with other cheeses? I found the crackers almost too mild, so I suspect I would like them more with a stronger tasting cheese.

IMG_5742

These crackers were almost all gone the day I made them, so I may have to make another batch soon and see for myself. We’re supposed to get more snow tomorrow (yay!), so that would be a good time for me to do this recipe again. Or, maybe, I’ll go sledding with the boys!

Posted on December 28, 2012, in Baking, Cooking, French Fridays with Dorie, Holiday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Wow – great round up.
    Hope you get your sledding in! The post-Christmas snow we received up here yesterday looks great for some winter fun.
    Happy New Year!

  2. You really Doried out on this meal. What a fantastic combination of French Friday recipes. I will remember this meal to impress. Happy New Year.

  3. This post is packed with FFWD goodness! Your little crackers are very pretty and the pork does look really nice with the little sage bits. Since my husband liked that one so much maybe I will try it next time with pork. Happy New Year!

  4. All the food looks so good. I will have to try celery root. It is one veggie I have never cooked.

  5. I was not so keen on the puree, but I am not a celery fan either. Your crackers look great , and they are definitely worth another batch.

  6. Great catch up! I love the scalloped edges on your crackers, and pork looks delicious too. Nice to pair with the celery root mash. You’ve been really busy in the kitchen. Hope you have a happy new year!

  7. Great catch up! I plan on making those crackers tomorrow! Everything looks so delicious!! I really enjoyed the celery puree…a surprise for sure!! Happy New Year!

  8. Everything looks wonderful! Now that you mention it, your pairing of the pork and celery root puree sounds really good. I didn’t have anything quite so wonderful with it so… and I still have to catch up on the cheese-it-ish crackers. Everything I’ve seen makes me think they will be wonderful.

    Enjoy your resting up!! Happy New Year!

  9. What a yummy menu! Your crackers look so perfect!!!

  10. Wow, so many nice recipes all at once! Everything looks so good too. I’m definitely going to try the pork a la normande – sounds delicious! Happy New Year to you!

  11. It all sounds and looks so lovely, the Cheese Crackers, the Celery Root Purree and the wonderful Pork à la Normande. How nice that you found the time to prepare all these lovely dishes! I would like to take the opportunity to send you and your family the very best wishes for the new year!

  12. So nice to have a white Christmas! The celery root sounds perfect for the pork – I made the chicken version, but the pork sounds fabulous, too. Those crackers look so pretty and I like your idea of adding some smoked paprika, too. Happy New Year!

  13. I am totally impressed with your catch-up project and even more impressed that it was during the busiest week of the holiday season. Weren’t the cheese crackers good? A nice alternative to cookies. I agree. The pork was a nice twist – I loved that dish. And, good for your family that most of you enjoyed the celery root purée. I liked it but agree that it needs some sauce, gravy, soupy something, to make the taste a little more special and less celery-ish. I want to wish you and all your boys (including your husband), a Happy and Healthy New Year 2013.

Tell me what you think!

