Happy New Year?

Well, hello there and happy new year! I don’t know about you, but I was not quite ready for the new year to start. Or maybe I wasn’t ready for last year to end. Time doesn’t seem to care what I think, though, because it just goes on and on, whether I am with her or not. I contemplated getting together a summary post of all my finished stitchy projects this year as a sort of retrospective. But, the truth is, I am not so good at looking behind me. I tend to look at what is around me right now and plan for what is coming next.

It’s not that I don’t appreciate the past. Without the past and the lessons it taught me, I would not be who I am now. I know there was a lot I learned this year, particularly in the areas of quilting and bread baking. 2012 was a wonderful year of developing blog friends and discovering the fun of baking and cooking together through blog groups. But, there is always more to learn, isn’t there? There will always be things that can be improved upon and new skills to develop.

January is typically the month in which I sort of hibernate at home. It is too cold to be out and about much, the hustle and bustle of the holidays is past, and I like to just sit at home and enjoy the quiet. I may try to organize the sewing/library/school room. It’s a crazy mess right now from us just throwing everything in there in an effort to make the rest of the house look neat and tidy for the holidays. But, as many of you know, I hate organizing, so we’ll see how far I get with that project.

I think I am going to buck the trend of retrospectives and resolution setting and just try to be quiet for the next week or two. Maybe I will hear something in the quiet that will give me some direction for the year to come, or at least for the next set of projects. The last thing I need is to start off the new year with a huge long list of things that need to get done. That kind of thing leaves me exhausted before I even begin.

No, no. I think for me, in order to start this year off on the right foot, I just need to do nothing for a little while to let that creative energy recharge and find its direction. I will try to sleep more, read some, drink lots of tea, and maybe try to finish eating all those Christmas goodies that we still have lying around. Does this sound lazy? Yes, maybe. Maybe one has to be lazy for a bit to figure out what’s what. I hope you get a chance to be a little lazy, too.

Posted on January 1, 2013, in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Lovely thoughts. I have already been very lazy for the past 5 days!

  2. I love the idea of hearing something in the quiet that gives direction for the new year! Quiet is a relatively new thing for me, having recently moved out to the country. Maybe its time I learned to work with it!

Tell me what you think!

