Goodbye Grellow

Do you ever have color phases in your life? I seem to go through them. There was the year I bought four blue dresses. Then there was a phase when I bought lots of pink. Pink shirts, pink sweaters, and pink yarn.

Yes, these phases seem to spill over into my crafting as well. A couple of years ago, pretty much all the fabric I bought was white and black and red. Last year was the year of grey and yellow or a combination of the two, grellow.

It all began with my swoon quilt, which has substantial amounts of grellow, with some other colors thrown in for variety. At the time, I thought that grey was going to be my new neutral favorite, but, over time, I think it has not. It’s just, well, too grey for me.

IMG_5800

My least favorite blocks are the ones that are just grey and yellow. I guess I just like colors like orange, pink, and blue better.

IMG_5887

Then, there was this pillow that I made through the curves class I took last year.

I just got around to finishing this last week, almost a full year after the curved block was done.

IMG_5888

Honestly, even though I think it looks ok, I am not too happy with the arrangement and the grellow color combination. It’s just so, um, last year. I like the back much better.

Now, I am considering colors for this year and my next sewing projects. This year’s pantone color of the year is emerald. I don’t know who pantone is or why they feel the need to choose a color of the year, but I guess I shouldn’t really try to explain it, given my color phases. Presently, I am auditioning green, blue, and various shades of reddish pink. I’m sure grey and yellow will make its way in somewhere. After all, I have lots of scraps, but I don’t think they will ever make its way back into prominence here.

How about you? What colors are you liking right now?

Posted on January 21, 2013, in Finished, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am currently obsessed with purple. I have never worn purple, owned anything purple or even admired purple. It just came on, all of a sudden, like the flu. Maybe next year (when we’re good and bored) we can swap 🙂

  2. Your creations are fantastic! I love your quilts especially!

Tell me what you think!

