Just Pretend

Today, I am feeling more or less like a healthy human after being sick for several days. This sickness took me by surprise just about every day. It was nothing like the sicknesses that I heard about from my friends or my kids’ friends this season so far. There’s been lots of flu and respiratory colds and tummy viruses, but mine was a new beast. With this sickness, I lost my voice for the first time in my life. I sounded like a strange creature for several days in a row, with the exception of one day. That day, I sounded like nothing because when I spoke nothing came out. Otherwise, I wasn’t terribly sick. There was no fever nor were there any chills; just a little tiredness and some sinusy stuff. The boys kept wondering why I sounded so funny. I just shrugged and tried not to talk, which is really hard when one is a homeschool mom.

In any case, I am telling you all this because today is Tuesdays with Dorie day and, though I intended to make this week’s recipe, French Apple Tart, I did not get to it. I have, however, made it numerous times in the past. It is one of my favorite recipes in the book. In fact, I made it for dessert this past Thanksgiving and thought I took a picture of it, but alas, I could not find it. That’s why, today, I am just asking you to pretend you saw it here.

IMG_5891

I can tell you what I had planned to do with this tart. I planned to use applesauce that I canned back in October from apples we picked ourselves. The pie dough would have been replaced by either the recipe that I have developed or the pate sucree from Dorie’s other book, Baking from My Home to Yours. The pate sucree is nice because it doesn’t have to be chilled before it is pressed into the pan, saving the rolling out step. I also would have opened a jar of apple jelly that I canned to use as the glaze. It would have been a lovely tart. In fact, I know it to be an impressively beautiful and utterly delicious tart. I make it at least once a year at holiday time and it never fails to get all gobbled up. Now, I am a little sad that I didn’t make it. It’s possible that I may still gather up the energy to get it done today. Or maybe not.

In the meantime, if you want to see some pretty tarts that mine might have resembled, you can visit the Tuesdays with Dorie group or you can try making it yourself. The recipe can be found here. Otherwise, you’ll just have to pretend you saw my tart today.

Incidentally, if you were at Thanksgiving dinner with me and you took a picture of the dessert table, can you send me the picture? Thanks! Then, maybe you won’t have to pretend you saw it here!

Edited to add: yay! I have a picture of my tart for you to see below, on the right. As you can see, it really is beautiful and now you can stop doubting that I ever made it in the first place.

20130122-165619.jpg

Now, you don’t have to use your imagination! Seriously, it’s a great tart, and I will probably be making it for years to come.

Posted on January 22, 2013, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Vicarious baking, my friend! I am sure it would be lovely!

  2. Feel all better soon!

  3. Glad to hear your voice is back! Incidently I was at thanksgiving dinner at your house and I did take a picture of your beautiful tart. ๐Ÿ™‚ It is actually a picre of all your desserts from thanksgiving. Check your iMessages ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Awww – hope you;re feeling better.

    Your real tart is beautiful and I am sure your imaginary one is too!

  5. Hope you’re feeling better. I had that before christmas and thought it was so strange to feel so tired and to lose my voice but not have the flu. (as in a fever) Glad you got to post though!

  6. Glad that you’re feeling better! Your tart turned out great!

  7. Hope you will be feeling much better soon! I did not doubt that you made this beautiful French Apple Tart, you are such a talented baker and I knew that you made it before and the picture certainly speaks for itself, your Tart looks very very pretty and I totally agree with you, this is one terrfic recipe!
    Get better soon and have a good Wednesday!

  8. I had fun imagining your tart from the photo of the ingredients, and then you had a real photo after all! The real tart was as good as the imaginary one. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. My imaginary tart is almost as pretty as yours (except it’s MUCH larger ๐Ÿ™‚
    Feel better!

  10. I hope you feel better now.. Your tart looks beautiful, and your description of what you would do if you did sounds heavenly ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. granny smiths = puckering at the 100th degree… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Carmen

  12. Hope your feeling better! I think your tart looks wonderfulโ€ฆI agree I will also be making it for years to come!!

  13. A beautiful tart indeed!! I do like your first picture however. This is one to be made again (and again!)

  14. beautiful tart and I am so glad you are feeling better. I thought it was a good one too.

  15. I am so sorry to hear that you have been sick. While I was reading, I was thinking how sweet that you wanted to share about the tart even though you didn’t have a photo and then it was such a nice surprise to see that you found one! Your tart looks beautiful and I am sure tasted wonderful. Perfect dessert for Thanksgiving.

  16. I’m so glad you ended up with a photo! It’s a great looking tart ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Homemade jelly and applesauce in one tart, that’s fantastic. I hope you are feeling better.

  18. I hope your voice is back by now. I was imagining your beautiful just fine, but it was nice to see a real picture too. That looks like an amazing Thanksgiving dessert spread! This was the first time I made this tart, but certainly not the last. I love the applesauce filling. Delicious.

  19. Your tart is beautiful. The homemade applesauce and jelly sound wonderful. Sorry you weren’t feeling well and didn’t get to make the tart again.

Tell me what you think!

