Thin on the Ground

Inspiration and motivation have been thin on the ground this week, much like the snow that’s been falling. Here one minute and gone the next.

IMG_5940

In between eating testing various oatmeal cookie recipes and attempting to finish one sweater while ignoring the other, I have been playing with my fabric.

IMG_5895

Rainbow colors make me happy. The brighter they are, the more I like them.

IMG_5896

But, as you can see, I am having a bit of trouble with a couple of shades. My choices for yellow and blue are slim. I eventually abandoned trying to get a rainbow, and just pulled out colors that made me happy.

IMG_5942

But, even here, I ran into the same trouble with the bright blue. There just is not enough of it. I must ponder this combination some more. It may be that this gets put away as well.

Crafty True Confessions: I have trouble combining more than two colors together and I spend an inordinate amount of time agonizing over different combinations. It kinda sucks the joy out of crafting for me and chases all my mojo away. This stage of project planning is the worst for me; picking colors, fabric, yarn, sizes. The infinite possibilities and choices paralyze me. I am happiest when I am stuck in the middle of a project, happily sewing or knitting away with a plan of action. On the flipside, I know that all the planning, playing with color combos, and experimenting are a crucial part of the learning and discovery process. I am an impatient person, though, and must always remind myself to slow down, ponder, and enjoy the process. Even a little bit of snow is better than no snow at all.

Posted on February 1, 2013, in Inspiration, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

