Weekend Victories

Victory was mine this weekend with the finishing of my Sprossling sweater.

IMG_5972

Well, it’s all done except the buttons.

IMG_5994

I must confess that there were times when this project tested me. During the knitting of the sleeves and back, I found myself tiring of the pattern. Its simplicity is comforting when you need something that doesn’t take much thought, but kinda boring at other times when I wanted a little more variety. Then, there was the waist shaping, which had me stumped a couple of times until I figured out a way to do it that gave me a look I was satisfied with.

IMG_5985

Then, I had to recreate that look on the front pieces, which was challenging because I did not take notes the first time around. Silly me. I hope I have learned my lesson with this one.

In any case, all was forgiven when I put the sweater on. It fits me perfectly.

IMG_5988

Sorry that I have my arms crossed. As you can see, it was snowing and it was a little cold! If you want a few more technical details (but no waist shaping notes, as I did not write those down), you can visit my ravelry project page.

IMG_5995

You can find the pattern for the sweater here. It is rare, I think, to knit a sweater and have it fit as perfectly as this one did for me. In fact, I was so impressed with how well the sweater fit that I immediately cast on a new Knitspot sweater.

IMG_5993

Also, our local football team won the Superbowl, so most people around here are feeling very excited. I’m not a big football fan, but it’s hard not to get caught up in all the hullaballoo. Anyway, I am happy for them. Victories are made ever sweeter when one remembers past defeats.

Posted on February 4, 2013, in Finished, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Love it 🙂 And YAY RAVENS!

  2. The sweater is beautiful! Love the shaping.

Tell me what you think!

