Focaccia, Revisited

I love focaccia. The husband and I used to go to an Italian Deli when we were newly married that had these marvelous sandwiches stuffed with an inch of various Italian meats and cheeses and veggies, all served on thick slabs of focaccia. It was then that I fell in love with focaccia. But, strangely, I have never bought or been served a focaccia that has lived up to that first deli’s standard. I’ve been making focaccia off and on for years with various recipes and they have all been pretty good. However, the focaccia recipe from Rustic Italian Food that I made a few weeks ago was the best I have ever had and the best I have ever made. And let me tell you, I have made some good ones.

Unfortunately, this week’s twd recipe for focaccia, to be found in Baking with Julia was much less than stellar. Part of its problem was that it followed the recipe from Rustic Italian Food, which, as I have already mentioned, was the best. Ever since that focaccia, the boys have been begging me to make more. That one was so sublimely delicious, that I knew it would be a tough act to follow.

IMG_5943

Firstly, the dough was too stiff.

All the focaccia recipes that I have made and really liked have been really loose doughs. You could almost pour these doughs, they are that loose. This dough was more like a pizza dough.

IMG_5944

Secondly, I thought the dough was too active. Look at how much it rose in an hour. Now, this could be because I used instant yeast or my water was too warm or some other variable, but I sensed some trouble. It was just too active for a dough that would eventually be retarded in the fridge, which brings me to my third issue with this dough.

I love using the fridge for holding bread dough, but this time, it did not work for me. Because of some oven timing issues, I was not able to give the dough the minimum 24 hours needed in the fridge. It was more like 20 hours and it was tough to shape. I understand that the longer the dough rests, the easier it is to shape. This was really my fault, but it was kind of the last nail in the coffin, so to speak.

IMG_5967

I opted to bake the bread into one giant, flat loaf because we like to cut it into nice rectangles for serving. It looked great before it went into the oven, with its rosemary, sea salt, and olive oil toppings.

IMG_5969

However, there was just not much oven spring to the dough. It was ok. It rose, but it had the texture of a thick pizza dough. It was too dry and tough to be called focaccia, in my opinion. This will not be repeated in my kitchen. The boys were initially excited about the focaccia, but both declared it to be just ok, not nearly as good as the “other one.”

IMG_5971

Now, dear reader, please take this post with a grain of salt. I am not saying that this bread is bad. In fact, it is tasty, and if you go and make it (you can find the recipe here), I am almost sure you will like it. After all, what’s not to love about freshly baked bread? Just don’t make it after making the one from Rustic Italian Food, The Bread Bible, or La Brea Bakery, ok? Then, you won’t be disappointed.

Posted on February 5, 2013, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Wow, you said all the same things I felt about this recipe! It did feel more like a thick pizza dough – and that’s kinda how mine turned out in the oven. I got almost no puff out of mine, and the flavor wasn’t any better than other focaccia I’ve had. I’ll have to give the Rustic Italian Food focaccia recipe a try!

  2. I pretty much felt the same – it was good but it wasn’t what I expected. Yours looks really pretty with the rosemary sprinkles though.

  3. Your bread is beautiful, I am sorry it wasn’t great for you.
    I thought the dough was way too dry as the recipe was written, so I left it wetter and found it worked really well. I am not sure why they wanted it so dry?

  4. Beverly Winchester

    I am proofing this recipe right now, (yes,I am late)… appreciate your comments and I may refer to your other recipes suggested. Your bread certainly looks delicious, anyway!

  5. I totally agree with you. I played around with this dough and recipe…but it took FOREVER on the last rise after chilling in the fridge…and, like you, I’ve made better. I’ll look up the recipe you like because I’m always looking for better. Thanks.

  6. Definitely going to try the recipe from LaBrea.

  7. Wow I really want to try that other recipe now!

  8. Now that you have compared the two versions of Focaccia and I have read through your post on the Rustic Italian Cookbook, I have to try that recipe, of course, it looks so incredibly authenic and delicious. But Tuesday´s Focaccia with the sprinkling of sea salt and the fresh rosemary also looks wonderful. But you are quite the breadmaker and I will follow your advice and try the other recipe as soon as possible.

  9. Clearly, I’ll have to find a copy of the Rustic Italian Cookbook. I love focaccia…

  10. Thanks for the cookbook suggestions – will definitely try out the one from the Bread Bible.
    Thanks for baking along this week!

  11. Based on your success I have requested Rustic Italian from my library. Can’t wait to try that focaccia recipe. Thanks for a great post.

  12. Your bread does look good. I will ahve to look at the Rustic Italian recipe. I would like a recipe that doesn’t take so long!

  13. It sounds like you have had quite a bit of experience with focaccia. I am going to check out the other recipe. Now that I have finally made focaccia I really want to find one that I will make all the time. I really liked this one, but not all the resting time. Your focaccia does look pretty.

  14. I agree with you about the dough being too active. I don’t think it needed so much yeast. Your focaccia looks delicious though.

  15. I wasn’t thrilled either, but they can’t all be winners!

  16. It looks great! My bread did not get the signature air pockets in the crumb. Was tasty though.

  17. Sorry you didn’t like this one so much. They look really great though! And it was pretty tasty!

Tell me what you think!

