Have a Heart

Happy Valentine’s Day. I used to think V-day was silly. A made up holiday by retailers who just want to make money. I thought, if you really love someone, you should show it every day, not just one day a year. Plus, what about people who are having a tough time of it, romantically speaking? It just seemed like an exclusionary holiday, meant to idealize romance and make the lonely feel lonelier.

IMG_6029

But, the last couple of years, my heart has warmed to the holiday as I have watched the boys get excited about making valentines for all their friends, teachers, and family. I had this realization that I don’t have to buy into all the marketing goo about the holiday.

IMG_6030

We can celebrate the spirit of the day; the one in which we choose to celebrate love of all kinds. There’s love among friends, love among family, and the unending, incomprehensible love of God. Without God’s example of love, we wouldn’t know how to love anyone but ourselves.

IMG_6025

Love. What better reason do you need to celebrate any day of the year?

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Baking, Holiday, Inspiration, Thankfulness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Well said! Happy Valentine’s day to you and your family 🙂

  2. Those cookies surely made me feel loved when I was handed 4 of them when I wasn’t expecting anything at all. Cookies gone in 60 seconds…. Love felt all afternoon!

Tell me what you think!

