Trio of Yumminess

This month I have really fallen behind on the French Fridays posting schedule. This doesn’t necessarily mean that I haven’t made the recipes. With the exception of today’s recipe, I have made them, they just haven’t been made on time. So, to distract you from the fact that I did not even attempt the coeur, I will catch you up on the two that I have made and show you a bonus one that I made yesterday for V-day that the group has not made yet.

Recipe #1: Brown Sugar Squash and Brussel Sprouts en Papillote

IMG_5989

I meant to follow the recipe and cook this in a package, really, but at the last minute, I changed my mind and ended up with just roasted veggies with no apples. It was tasty and I don’t regret it one bit. I knew I would miss the crispy browned bits. Maybe some other time I will try it all wrapped up.

Recipe #2: Fresh Orange Pork Tenderloin

IMG_6020

This recipe was liked by all. It was simple and it was a nice and light, a welcome change to heavy wintry foods. The husband said it tasted even better the next day when he had it for lunch. I liked the pairing of orange with pork very much and imagine that this dish would be equally good in the summertime with peaches.

Recipe #3: Gâteau Basque

IMG_6058

I struggled up until the last minute with what to serve for dessert on Valentine’s Day. This week’s ffwd recipe, coeur à la crème, was out because of that pesky lactose intolerance issue. I wasn’t about to make a dessert for us that I could not partake myself. My original idea was the make the orange-almond tart, but when I went to start, I discovered that I had no almond flour. As I was flipping through the rest of the cookbook, I came across the gâteau, and thought it would be perfect.

IMG_6040

And it was. As a bonus, it was easy to make, too. I used a jar of my precious sour cherry jam for the filling and tried to make a nice heart design on the top, which sorta worked out.

IMG_6044

We all agreed that it was delicious, kinda like filled shortbread, but better and really good with tea or coffee. It’s even better and more fun if you have a paper crown on your head, thanks to the husband for buying valentine’s day crackers. When this comes up in the regular ffwd rotation, I will be more than happy to make it again.

Posted on February 15, 2013, in Baking, Cooking, Family Fun, French Fridays with Dorie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Oooh! I love your cake plate! ( And the cake looks darned good too 🙂

  2. Everything is better with a paper crown. Just sayin’
    Good round up 🙂

  3. All those dishes look scrumptious! I must try the gateau, too.

  4. Wow. These look fabulous. Ummmm, I made lentil soup for Valentine’s Day. Had penne ala vodka with sun-dried tomatoes, asparagus and shrimp the night before… but that’s because we went out 🙂

  5. Everything looks (and sounds!) terrific. I’ll be looking forward to that gateau now – very intriguing. Nice work!

  6. What a fun catch up week…now I am looking forward to the Gateau Basque!

  7. I like your thought about summer pork with peaches- sounds yummy. That gateau is off the charts- wow ! And I jumbled weeks around too and was getting ready to make pea soup when Nana reminded me the recipe took overnight prep. That was the clue – not pea soup:)

  8. Glad to see these…I’m going to do a catch up soon too. There’s a pork tenderloin waiting to be cooked and photographed here!!!

  9. Honestly, I didn’t love the coeur a la creme. The gateaux looks much more up my alley. I love how you etched hearts on top of the cake. Can’t wait to make that one, for sure!

  10. Everything looks delicious! Yum!

  11. It all looks deliciously wonderful but I am particularly fond of the Gâteu Breton, it looks just perfect! But the Fresh Orange Pork Tenderloin and the Squash and Brussels Sprouts en Papillote also look terrific – I love your colorful presentations!
    Have a nice weekend!

  12. I don’t blame you a bit for not wanting to make the coeur if you couldn’t eat it. Your gateau looks wonderful and I love the heart! Your other dishes look delicious. I roasted the brussels sprouts, apple, and butternut squash after I posted about it and actually preferred it cooked in the packet which surprised me as my method of choice for vegetables in the winter is roasting. Your pork and oranges look perfect.

Tell me what you think!

