Orange Scented Lentil Soup

This is probably the most unattractive soup I have ever made. I didn’t think it looked too bad while it was cooking. You can see the chunks of carrots and celery. The lentils sink to the bottom of the pot while cooking.

IMG_6180

However, after the soup meets immersion blender, it is not pretty at all.

IMG_6181

Fortunately, it is quite tasty and easy, too. My lentils were tiny, so they took less han an hour to cook. Also, I used ground spices instead of whole because I was afraid the boat motor wouldn’t be able to grind up the whole ones sufficiently. Here is another view.

IMG_6183

The orange flavor was stronger than I expected, but it was good. We had it with spinach and chicken sausage, greek yogurt, and some focaccia from the freezer. It was a nice, light meal, if a little drab to look at. What else can I say? I guess if I am searching for more, it must mean that it is kind of boring. Well, let’s face it, it is, but life can’t be all fireworks and excitement.

This post is part of the French Fridays with Dorie group. You can find the recipe in her cookbook, Around My French Table.

Posted on March 15, 2013, in Cooking, French Fridays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Fortunately, this tasted much better than it looked…

    I found that cooking time was much shorter than the book indicated (which was a good thing – because we were hungry for dinner at that point).

  2. Lovely bowl of hearty Orange-Scented Lentil Soup. So nice to read that your family enjoyed this so much – it was indeed delicious. Spinach and chicken sausage sound like they were wonderful additions to your soup.
    Have a great weekend!

  3. I left mine chunky, didn´t blend it. But it tasted great either way i guess. I just like to bite on the lentils. I like the idea of focaccia to go with it!

  4. Those that didn’t puree it had a much more attractive soup. I actually felt it took away from enjoying it. No puree next time for me.

  5. It’s funny how the need to photograph your food can change your relationship with it. Prior to joining FFwD, it never would have occurred to me to complain about my food not being photogenic enough. But here we are:-)

  6. Good call on the spices…mine wound up in my bowl!! This was a delicious soup and I love your addition of sausage! Bonne Idee!!

  7. This soup tasted a lot better than it looked. Hope you have a great weekend.

  8. It’s certainly a bland-looking soup – how very deceptive! I loved the flavor of this soup, the orange really enhanced the heartiness of the lentils. Definitely something I’ll make again!

  9. Yes, good call on the ground spices. I had issues with the whole spices too.

  10. I, too, was amazed how strong the orange permeated through the soup.

  11. Yeah, the pureed version wouldn’t win any beauty contest. Love that you served it with sausage and spinach…..mmmmmmmm.

  12. This is the first one I have seen with sausage and it looks amazing. Yum. I am with you on how the colors looked so good in the beginning- sad how drab they ended up. Good thing it tasted so lovely- that orange and ginger was a surprise hit !

Tell me what you think!

