Grown-up Cookies

Here I am making cookies again! This week’s Tuesday’s with Dorie recipe is a nice break from the batches of oatmeal cookies that I continue to bake in search of the perfect oatmeal cookie. I am close to a final version (I hope!). In the meantime, these Mocha Chocolate Chipper cookies were a nice treat.

IMG_6188

The only change I made to the recipe was to use just one tablespoon of espresso powder. The package said that one teaspoon would make a cup of instant coffee, so I thought that a tablespoon would be more than enough.

IMG_6189

I also scooped the dough out while it was still soft. Actually, the husband scooped it for me since I have been having a little wrist trouble lately. Must be all that heavy knitting.

Anyway, after the dough was all scooped, I froze it. Some have had trouble with these cookies spreading too much in the oven, and this is a trick that will keep that from happening, but your dough has to be fairly soft. Otherwise, your cookie may not spread as much as you like! Cookie baking is an art, I tell you.

IMG_6196

They turned out perfectly. My scoops were a little bigger, so there were 35 cookies in the end, not four dozen, but that’s ok. We like our cookies on the big side in our house.

IMG_6197

I took the cookies to a meeting and they were enjoyed by all who tried them. A couple people could not detect the coffee flavor, which I took as a good sign. I thought there was just enough coffee flavor to compliment the chocolate, but not too much so as to overpower the other flavors. I used a combination of milk chocolate and dark chocolate chips, along with some really soft, organic dried apricots from Trader Joe’s. The husband loved them. I liked them, too. The apricot was quite a nice change from the cranberries and raisins we’ve been having in our cookies lately. I worried that they would bake up hard, but they were fine. I think cherries would be nice as well.

IMG_6198

They have just the perfect combination of crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. They are perfect with a cup of tea or coffee, but maybe not for the likes of the kiddies if one is shy about giving caffeine to them. I may let my boys try them, but only for a daytime snack. The good news is that I still have almost two dozen frozen cookie balls in the freezer for the husband and me to eat after the boys are in bed.

The recipe is posted here if you would like to try them and I urge you to do so. They are worth it.

Posted on March 19, 2013, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Your cookies look perfect!
    I really liked these too and am glad to hear I am not the only one who liked them with the apricots in them.

  2. Lovely! So glad you enjoyed them! 🙂

  3. Love the tip about freezing them AFTER scooping! That’d make it really easy to bake them when you’re ready. I’m gonna try it with my unused dough.

  4. I did think of these as adult chocolate chip cookies! Great post!

  5. Definitely an adult cookie, yum!

  6. Your cookies look delicious. I enjoyed the addition of apricots too.

  7. What beautiful cookies! Mine tasted great and looked okay but yours look perfect!

  8. What a wonderful array of dried apricots and chocolates you chose to add to your lovely cookies – they look wonderful. I agree that this was a really nicerecipe. It is nice to see and read that most bakers did enjoy the wonderful taste and smell of these cookies so much!
    Have a wonderful Wednesday

  9. Wow, your cookies look really good! Gives me motivation to try these again, after mine turned (deliciously) rogue…

  10. Great looking cookies. They were loved by my crew as well. Good tip about the freezing. I always freeze my dough in balls so that I can have cookies available at all times. (for those cookie emergencies!)

  11. Hmmm, freezing after scooping. I probably won’t be trying THIS recipe again but I will definitely use this tip for another one! Thanks!

  12. They turned out lovely. So glad you enjoyed them. I am going to freeze the scoops for my next batch and that way I can bake them off when I get a chocolate craving coming on.

  13. Those I could definitely go for 🙂

  14. I love eating frozen cookie balls! I enjoyed these cookies. I used three tablespoons of espresso powder and it was barely noticeable. Your cookies look perfect!

  15. Your cookies look fab. I left out the apricots and am now curious as to what dimension these would have added to the flavour.

  16. How wonderful! So glad you loved them.
    I loved these Mocha chocolate chips…I’ve doubled the ingredients (with some changes), split the dough into 4 portions and added different ingredients (such as orange, pecan+walnuts, dried cherries, almonds): a winner in our house !
    I usually freeze cookies once they are baked (and not the cookie balls), then take them out and within 10- 15 minutes at room temp. they are ready to be eaten. I wonder if there’s a difference. Do you know?

Tell me what you think!

