Little Cakes of Gold

Finally! I am back on track today. The last few weeks were busier than usual with field trips, holidays, and other events of life. Not to mention the time sucking nature of teaching a ten year old how to write a research paper. I have discovered that teaching someone how to write takes up far more time than my own writing, hence the rather sparse blog posts that have been happening lately. Fortunately, we are on the countdown to the end of the school year, yay! Unfortunately, several of the following weeks will have some more intense writing assignments for the elder, so the blog may continue to suffer a bit longer.

But, today, today, I am back and happily baking in the kitchen again. Today, I am making the FFwD recipe, Financiers, from Dorie’s book, Around My French Table. Surprisingly, I have never made these little golden cakes before, probably because I don’t own the right pan. In any case, instead of golden bars of cake that are supposed to mimic bars of gold, I made the cakes in a mini muffin pan and got golden cake coins.

IMG_6365

The hardest part of the recipe is making the browned butter. You just have to watch it to make sure it doesn’t burn, but it was hard for me to see because of all the foam on the top. Then, I strained it twice to get the little bits out, even though the recipe doesn’t say to do that. I wasn’t sure what those little bits would do to my final results. I have to say, when I started stirring the butter into the batter, the smell was amazing!

IMG_6366

Another change I made, was to make these completely gluten free by using the Cup4Cup flour I told you about here. Since the cake batter has so much almond flour, it was already halfway to being gluten free, so I just decided to go whole hog and see how it turned out. Basically, I substituted an equal amount of C4C for the regular flour.

IMG_6368

My batter only rested in the fridge for an hour. Next time, I’ll try to think ahead more. At the last minute, I decided to put a blueberry in the middle of each cake. Dorie says she sometimes likes to put a piece of fruit in and I thought, why not?

IMG_6370

I tasted one while it was still warm from the oven. Oh my. These are tasty. It’s lightly crispy on the outside, buttery, soft and almondy on the inside. The blueberry adds a touch of moisture and lightness that compliments the cake very well. If I did not make these myself and know that they were totally gluten free, I would not be able to tell. They are just plain delicious, and unless some of my gf friends show up at my door soon, they will be all gone.

IMG_6372

These little cakes are really easy to make and possibly worth their weight in gold. I encourage you to go make them now and see for yourself. The recipe is right here.

Posted on April 12, 2013, in Baking, French Fridays with Dorie, Gluten Free and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. These really do look lovely.
    I have heard some very good things about the C4C flour – it sounds like a winner of a product

  2. Beauties!!! Amazing that you made these gluten free..I wondered what they would be like using all almond flour? But I like your use of the C4C flour here;-)

  3. I’ll have to check into that flour so I can make these for my in-laws. You are right…there is so little APF in these you might as well go all the way! Beautiful with the blueberry!

  4. They look perfectly delicious- that’s neat that you translated this into a gf recipe- I have a dear young friend I could bake these for- thank you for the information!

  5. Beautiful! Thanks for the tip on C4C (what a great name…TKeller & crew, of course!) Have a great w/e. A

  6. These financiers of your looks delightful with the blueberries – what a good idea to substitute the gluten free flour for regular all purpose flour. I like to read about all the substitutions or additions that the members of the FFwD group made to this basic and easy recipe.
    Have a nice weekend!

  7. Welcome back! Great idea using blueberries!

  8. They might not be shaped by gold ingots but the mini-muffins are like gold nuggets! These look delicious!

  9. Mmmmm! I wish I could find almond flour out in the country :-/

  10. I loved these little cakes too – I bought the C4C for a GF friend as part of her wedding gift and she loved it & said that it was the best GF flour she has used. It’s a little pricey but then again, what isn’t these days?

  11. Love your beautiful little tea cakes…they look extra pretty with the blueberries on top! I loved these little cakes…they were definitely a hit in my house. Looking forward to making the chocolate version.

  12. I love how well these translated to gluten-free. Next time I make them, I’ll be making a g-f version, so my partner can have some, too.

Tell me what you think!

