Monday Dos and Don’ts

Happy Tax Day! Well, more accurately in my house today, Happy Baking Day. It’s the middle of the afternoon, and I have pretty much been baking since I got up this morning. This is a result of a crazy confluence of scheduling. Here’s a brief summary of what I have committed to bakingwise, beginning with yesterday and ending with tomorrow.

Yesterday, I had to take 6 dozen pieces of baked goodies to church for coffee time.
Today, there are treats to bake for my bimonthly ladies craft night meeting.
Also today, I committed to baking some 6-8 dozen cookies to be packed and shipped off to various college students.
Tomorrow, I have committed to baking 5 dozen treats for another function.

If you were counting, that’s more than 18 dozen baked goodies in three days! Yes, I must have a little chat with the person who schedules these things(me) so that this doesn’t happen again.

But, thankfully, I have some dos and don’ts that will help anyone (me) get through a baking scheduling crisis such as this one.

1. DO have lots of cookie dough balls waiting to be baked in the freezer for such a time as this. This of course, takes some advance planning, but if you make it a habit to just bake one pan of cookies and freeze the rest of the dough for later, your waistline will thank you, and you’ll be glad for it when you need to bake something last minute.

IMG_6381

2. DO make everything in miniature. 12 full sized cupcakes turns into 48 if you make them mini and no one will really complain that they need more dessert, will they?

IMG_6393

3. DO get the kiddies involved. Cool cookie cutter shapes help tremendously. In this case, it’s Star Wars spaceships. As a side note, those cookie cutters with stamps that create designs are cool, but sorta spotty in actual function. The dough has to be at a magic temperature to both imprint a design and release from the stamp. We have not quite found that magic temperature, yet.

IMG_6398

4. DO use the convection oven for cookies, if you have one. This allows you to bake 3 pans of cookies simultaneously without having the to the cookie pan shuffle dance every two minutes.

IMG_6394

5. DO make use of all those baking mixes that people give you or you buy because they are on sale. Now is not the time to be snobby and insist that everything be from scratch.

6. DON’T let the sink get full of dishes. Wash the mixing bowls and spatulas as you go will make you a happier camper when you do your next batch or when you call it quits for the day. A disaster of a kitchen will just make you weep at the end of it all.

7. DO taste stuff. After all, you’re going to all this work, you should get to enjoy some, too. Have some tea or coffee while you’re at it.

8. DO make sure that there are a lot of leftovers in the fridge so that you don’t have to cook a meal on top of it all.

8. And lastly, but not leastly, make sure you DON’T make this scheduling mistake again.

On the positive side, I have cleared out a bit of space in the freezer and am feeling super productive today. Happy Monday!

Posted on April 15, 2013, in Baking, Stuff I Use and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I am gobsmacking amazed that you could get all this done in a day! Way to bake on!

  2. I, too, am amazed but have made scheduling errors like that myself. Thanks so much for the tips just in case my secretary (me) does it again. (You just can’t get good help these days ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. you are a baking beast! sounds like a fun day ๐Ÿ™‚

Tell me what you think!

