If Only

Recently, it seems, I have been dealing with some if only things, from myself and others. This morning, it was the one of the boys saying if only he had gotten up earlier, he’d be further long in his work. And last night from myself, if only I hadn’t been so immature as a 20 something, I wouldn’t have been so hurtful to my friends and family. But, as I tried to talk my son down from the heights of his despair, I realized that what I was saying to him needed to be said to myself.

*There’s no use dwelling on what has already been done, unless the lesson is still unlearned.

*We always have the choice right now, right this second, to open our hearts to learning the lessons our past is trying to teach us.

*The next moment is determined by the decisions we make now. Will we choose to wallow in the past and not be able to function in the present and future? Or can we let it go, let ourselves be changed by the past, but not haunted?

*Can we accept ourselves as basically flawed and not have high expectations that will just lead to madness when we can’t attain the perfection our minds and hearts want?

*It’s never too late to ask for help or ask for forgiveness.

*Sometimes, you just gotta get over yourself, put your nose on that grindstone, and get it done, however imperfect the finished product.

*You never know what you can accomplish until you try it again. And again. And again. Because the more you do it, the easier it will get.

*These are tough lessons to teach and learn. None of it can be accomplished in a day, much less a moment. Little signs of progress are worth celebrating.

IMG_6435

Today, I am grateful, so grateful for my kids. They teach me everyday what true love is and what it requires and what it has already accomplished. They are a continual reminder that no matter how old I get, I will never be too old to learn the same lessons over and over again. These are the things that make our lives richer, more full of meaning, and precious.

These lessons bring us closer, if only we would learn from them.

Posted on April 23, 2013, in Inspiration, Thankfulness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful reminder to learn from the “if only” and not carriage the baggage of it all through our life. Thank you and God Bless!

  2. Very well said& a wonderful lesson for us all!

  3. You are just a wonderful person. I really REALLY needed to hear that. Thank you 🙂

  4. Graciously said. Now the hard part: to listen.

Tell me what you think!

