On to the Next

I finished up that sweater I showed you on Monday. Here are some pictures. Please disregard the lack of modeling talent that I have. It’s a little awkward to have someone take pictures of you just for the knitwear. Anyway, it fits really well, I think.

IMG_6453

The sleeves were a bit snugger than I expected, and at first I did not like it, but the more I wore it, the more comfy I found it. First of all, they stayed put. There was no risk of dragging my cuffs through dirty dishwater or food that I was prepping on the counter. If I pulled them up, they stayed there, and when they were down, they let nary a cool draft up my arms. It was pretty comfy.

IMG_6456

And with the pretty detail on the sleeves, it would be a shame to get cake batter all over them. This makes me rethink the whole notion of what I consider comfortable clothing. You know, I grew up in the 80’s and 90’s when saggy and baggy was fashionable. Now, I think maybe I need to join the 21st century and wear more fitted clothes. It’s too bad that I am discovering this now, though, when I have more rolls than I would like to show. I would just like to say that the roll in the following picture is from the shirt I have on underneath. When someone else is taking the pictures, beggars can’t be choosers!

IMG_6454

This sweater pattern is Leaving by Anne Hanson of Knitspot. This is the second sweater I have made using her patterns, and I can’t say enough to recommend them, really. The patterns are clearly written and the fit, for me anyway, is spot on. My only complaint is that I wish she had more sweater patterns. Ah well, I’ll take what I can get.

The yarn is a hand-dyed bfl yarn from Maple Creek Farm called Fredericksburg. I got it a couple of years ago at the MD Sheep and Wool Festival. It was a very pleasant yarn to work with; smooth, strong, but soft with a nice fuzziness. My only complaint here was the very strong smell of cedar that was a little overwhelming at first. The festival is just a little over a week away, and I may just have to go see if they have some more of this stuff. I got two giant hanks of yarn. Each one had 660 yards and I have a good amount leftover from each one. I love these big hanks of yarn because it means changing yarn less often, and with hand-dyed yarns, that is a bonus. Basically, I was able to make a sleeve and a body piece from each skein, and since the skeins were fairly close, I did not have to alternate while I was knitting, which makes for many fewer ends to weave in–yay! I’d give you a link to Maple Creek Farm, but I couldn’t find one, so you’ll just have to come to the festival to check them out yourself!

And now, the big question is, what shall I go on to next? Another sweater? Shawl?

p.s. here’s a link to my ravelry project page for this sweater.

Posted on April 25, 2013, in Finished, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

