Block Experiments

This weekend I had a few hours to myself in the house, and instead of cleaning, I decided to do a little sewing. There have been a couple of block patterns that I have been itching to try out. Firstly, ever since I did those square in a square blocks a couple of weeks ago, I have wanted to try them again, only with these templates I bought last summer.

IMG_6468

My main goal was to compare the ease of making these blocks with templates versus the paper piecing method I tried earlier. It was definitely more up front cutting and trimming of pieces. In fact, I cut a whole bunch and then realized that I had cut them from the wrong fabric. Oops. That’s what I get for not taking a few minutes to make a cut list.

IMG_6469

Once I fixed the problem of the cut list, and got going in the right direction, I slowly came to the realization that accurate cutting is challenging. Even with templates, it’s easy for the fabric to shift a fraction of an inch and give you a wonky piece. I had hoped that this method would be just as accurate as paper piecing, but it’s not. There’s a little less waste, but only if you cut out the right pieces-haha!

IMG_6471

It’s not bad. The square in a square blocks were accurate enough, but those diamond blocks are tough. Those I will try again with paper piecing and see if I like them better.

Next, I worked on some Japanese + and x blocks using this popular tutorial. These were fun to make and I think I may have to make some more of these!

IMG_6473

All these blocks I made over the weekend are destined to become new pillows for the house. Some of the ones we have lying around are over ten years old and need to be replaced. Pillows are a great way to try out a new block or technique and give your sofa a new look at the same time!

IMG_6475

I will probably sew on some white sashing to border these blocks and then do some experimental quilting as well before I sew them up into pillows. Also, I have pulled out a bunch of fabrics to make more knitting project bags. I may or may not have cast on a bunch of new knitting projects this weekend…you can never have too many bags, right?

Posted on April 29, 2013, in Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Looking at these blocks sure gives me the itch to do some quilting! Thanks for Sharing.

  2. I’ve been wanting to try the X and + blocks! Yours look terrific!

Tell me what you think!

