Daily Archives: May 7, 2013

Rhubarb Upside Down Cake

For us, spring means rain, tulips, cherry blossoms, strawberries, and rhubarb. Rhubarb, I know, is not everyone’s favorite flavor, but we happen to love it. It’s got a great tartness that goes especially well with strawberries, but is also great on its own. Today’s Tuesday’s with Dorie recipe is a lovely sweet butter cake that is paired with rhubarb and a sprinkling of pecans.

Since I do not have eight little baby cake pans, I decided to make the cake in a 12 inch cast iron pan. I briefly considered the 10 inch pan because I really did not think that there would be enough batter to fill up a 12 inch, but a 10 inch cast iron pan is not as big as you would think after you factor in the thickness and slope of the sides.

Of course, baking the cake in the pan meant that I had fewer dishes, which always makes me happy, and I did not have to do all the prep work to get any baking pans ready. From start to finish, the cake took a little over an hour to make. Prepping rhubarb is as easy.

IMG_6514

I did not even try to arrange the rhubarb decoratively in the pan. There were just too many little pieces for all that fussiness. So, I just sprinkled it around as evenly as I could.

IMG_6517

The cake batter was easily mixed up and spread on top of the fruit. It did seem a little skimpy for the size of the pan, but I decided to just go with it and see what would come of it.

IMG_6519

After 40 minutes in the oven, I pulled it out since it looked quite done.

IMG_6521

I thought it was a little paler in the middle than I would have liked. The edges were nice and caramelized, though.

IMG_6522

It was a super moist and deliciously buttery cake, which really complimented the slightly tangy rhubarb.

IMG_6526

We served it with fresh, organic strawberries and it was a good combination. This cake would be wonderful with pears, plums, nectarines, or even berries. We had it for breakfast the next day and it was just as good. Rhubarb does start to taste differently after a day or so, so it is best to eat up baked rhubarb goodies right away. There are no complaints about that here.

IMG_6524

This is as easy an upside down cake as you’ll get, and I highly recommend it. I used sour cream, which made the cake delicious. Next time, I may consider trying the smaller pan and maybe dark brown sugar. It was a thinish cake, and I wonder if I would get better caramelization on the fruit if I use a smaller pan with a longer baking time. As long as the batter doesn’t overflow, that would probably work out well.

Try this recipe! It’s a good one. You can find it here.