Salty Cake

What do you get when you take the sugar out of cake and add bacon, cheese, green onions, and a little cayenne?

IMG_6733

You get one of the yummiest things you’ll ever eat.

IMG_6734

This bread is perfect as a snack or appetizer, and would also be good served with soup or salad.

IMG_6736

I made this on the spur of the moment on Saturday to take to the boys’ piano recital party and it was a big hit.

IMG_6739

The recipe can be found in David Lebovitz’ book, The Sweet Life in Paris. The only change I made to the recipe was to change out the blue cheese for goat cheese, but I may make the blue cheese version soon, since I have some lounging around the fridge. It would make a great snack for the boys between meals and a nice alternative to the crackers and chips they have been having lately.

Aside from the cooking of bacon, it is a painless recipe. For this reason, it is a great candidate for using up any leftover bacon you may have laying around. In fact, when you cook bacon, you might want to consider cooking some extra for this cake. It would be worth it.

I don’t usually post recipes in cookbooks because of copyright issues. I really still believe in the printed book business, and I don’t want to take away from the income of really good cookbook authors. However, if you search for the recipe name along with David Lebovitz’ name, you’ll be able to find it if you want it. If you are interested at all in cooking, baking, and Paris life, though, consider buying the book. It is a good read and an interesting look into life as an American living in Paris. Plus, it has a lot of really good recipes. I am looking forward to trying the Chocolate Yogurt Snack Cakes, the Dulche de Leche Brownies, and the Pork Roast with Brown Sugar and Bourbon glaze, just to name a few.

Posted on June 10, 2013, in Baking, Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow – this looks amazing!

  2. My, my, my this looks incredible! I will definitely give it a try. Thanks for sharing!

Tell me what you think!

