Better with a Deadline

A couple of weeks ago, I started a whole slew of new projects, four sweaters, a shawl, and some socks. Predictably, progress has been incremental on all of these. It turns out that one hour a week per project does not produce much in the way of visible results. However, I did manage to finish those socks for father’s day, and this week, I finished another pair of socks for Camp Loopy.

IMG_6771

It turns out that I get more things done if I have a deadline. However, I do not like having a set schedule. I prefer to have a to do list to get through and the flexibility to work on things as the spirit leads, instead of tying myself down to working on X project on Monday from 10-11 and then Y project from 11-12. If I have a deadline, I tend to make that project a priority, but that in no way means that I work on it exclusively. I must have variety in order to stave off boredom, which is why I loved knitting these socks.

IMG_6773

There is just enough variety in the pattern to make the pattern interesting, but the pattern repeat was simple enough to memorize after a few inches. The yarn was a treat to knit with, Skein Top Draw sock yarn in the color Kaffir Lime. So far, the Skein yarns I have used have been wonderful. They are dyed in such a way that prevents pooling (that unfortunate thing that happens when colors line up unattractively), but still provides a lot of color interest without being busy.

IMG_6793

Here’s one project that seemed to bore me to tears at times, but is finally done this week as well. My notes tell me that I cast this project on in March of 2012. 15 months later, it is finally done. For some reason, I had a lot of trouble learning the pattern repeat on this one, so I was always counting stitches and getting irritated. Also, I did not love the yarn. It’s wooly, which is not a bad thing, but it was kind of a sticky wooliness that I found hard on my hands and the texture made it difficult for me to get into any kind of rhythm with this project.

IMG_6794

Also, I did not like the collar as written in the pattern, so I made up my own thing, which I like better. It looks kind of funny in the photo above, but folds down nicely. Now, I just need to find some buttons for it. That might take awhile, because I have no real deadline for this sweater. So, you see, without a deadline, a sweater can take me a looooong time to knit.

image

Next month, I will be attempting to knit a sweater in one month for my Camp Loopy project. I hope I can do it. What about you? Do you work well with a deadline?

Posted on June 26, 2013, in Inspiration, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Reblogged this on Egg in the Middle and commented:
    Here are a few challenges for my knitting friends!!!

Tell me what you think!

