Staycation

For the last three years, we have gone away on vacation during the week of July 4th. So, last week, when I found myself at home, it felt a bit strange. Where was all the packing stress and the bags strewn all over the floor? Why wasn’t I doing laundry like a crazy person and planning for a week’s worth of meals away from home in a strange kitchen? Other than a funny urge to just get in the car and Drive, anywhere far, far away, I got over the strange feelings quite quickly.

Instead, I declared that the week would be a staycation week for me. When I said this to the husband (who still had to go to work), his first question was, ” Does this mean you’re not cooking dinner?” Well, yes and no. It turns out that, other than our big Independence Day dinner, I did not do a lot of cooking, partly because our dishwasher broke. It broke 5 hours before our guests were coming for dinner on Thursday. Fortunately, we are well stocked in paper and plastic goods and were able to make do quite nicely. It doesn’t look like the dishwasher is going to get fixed anytime in the next week, so cooking might still be on the backburner for awhile.

So, if I didn’t cook much during my staycation week, what did I do? The first day, there was a lot of shuffling of papers and running up and down the stairs while the boys and I put last year’s school papers, books, and supplies away. Then, I spent a lot of time ordering all the new stuff for the fall. With all the school business taken care of, I went on to what I really wanted to do on my staycation.

Sew.

IMG_6846

Pillows first. The pieces for these have been sitting on the table for what feels like months. It was really nice to finally get them done and on the sofa to admire.

IMG_6851

My skill at sewing in a straight line does not seem to be getting any better, but oh well. They do brighten up the room a little, and I am pretty happy with them.

IMG_6848

I even like the backs.

After finishing all the pillows, I had to do some sewing for our Vacation Bible School crafts, and then I was finally able to work on the June block of my quilting group.

IMG_6862

It’s a fussy block with lots and lots of pieces, but pretty fun to do. I can tell that I have been away from the sewing machine for awhile, though. Apparently, not only do I have trouble sewing in a straight line, I also have trouble sewing along a line. Still, my points are mostly pointy, so I am pleased enough.

In addition to all the sewing, I also did some knitting– enough to finally show a little progress. Since I have so many different things that I am working on at the same time, it’s difficult to see the progress sometimes, but after a few weeks or so, there is usually enough progress made to merit mentioning.

There are socks, plain…

IMG_6855

…and fancy,

IMG_6861

most of a sweater sleeve,

IMG_6854

part of a sweater back,

IMG_6857

most of the lace edging of a shawl,

IMG_6858

and the top part of a top down sweater.

IMG_6856

It turns out that if I stay at home, don’t cook much, and don’t have school to teach, I can get a lot done! This week will be a little busier with VBS, but that will be its own kind of fun. Hopefully, I will still get some good sewing or knitting time in the afternoons or evenings. After all, the dishwasher is still broken. I can’t be expected to cook much, can I?

Posted on July 8, 2013, in Finished, Knitting, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh my word your pillow look fabulous! I honestly don’t know how you get so much done. I think of myself as organized and your projects run circles around mine! Great job and thanks for sharing.

  2. BEAUTIFUL PILLOWS! LOVE THEM! 🙂

Tell me what you think!

