Triple Chocolate Threat

Last night, despite the fact that the dishwasher is still broken, I had a hankering to bake something, anything. The past couple of days have been exhausting and I felt the need to do something that had nothing to do with crafty things, since most of my waking thoughts this weeks so far have been devoted to VBS crafts. I love crafting, but one can only take so much and it just has to be said that kids crafts, while great for them, does not always hit the same level of satisfaction for me as sewing or knitting. One can only take so much foamy shapes and magic markers.

IMG_6882

Anyway, I hit the kitchen last night and made chocolate chocolate chip cookies from the Bouchon Bakery cookbook. I only made one change. I made them gluten free using the cup-4-cup flour that I talked about awhile back.

IMG_6876

These cookies hit all the chocolate buttons. Chocolate chunks from your favorite chocolate bar are added, along with chocolate chips, and a heavy dose of dutch-processed cocoa powder. They are dark, crispy on the outside, and soft on the inside, with enough bits of chocolate to make one swoon.

IMG_6878

With all this chocolate, it’s really difficult to tell that they are gluten free. The husband said if I hadn’t told him they were gf, he never would have guessed. I agree. This makes me happy for my gluten free friends because I feel that I can serve these and be confident that I am not presenting a second class item. They are fabulous and just right for taking the edge off of a stressful day of crafting with 120 kids.

IMG_6879

Also, in case you are inspired to go buy the book and makes these, I made the cookies quite a bit smaller using a #50 scoop, which is probably a heaping tablespoon. At that rate, I was able to get about 2 and a half dozen cookies, instead of 6, which just means you can share them with more people and share the joy.

Posted on July 10, 2013, in Baking, Gluten Free, Recipe reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. They were AMAZING! While the children in my class had their snack I snuck out my cookies. Tonight I had another… Even better the second time but perhaps that was do to the lack of 15 screaming kindergarteners

    Thank you from a GFF 🙂

Tell me what you think!

