Catching Up: Yarny Stuff

While I was gone, I managed to finish my third Camp Loopy project. Actually, I was done by the middle of August because the pattern is really super easy and makes for great car knitting.

IMG_7224

It fits great with a little extra room to grow, so I am pretty happy with it. The yarn is Zauberball Gradient, which has a felted look and feel, but is really rather strong and nice to knit with.

IMG_7395

While we were on our trip, we managed a couple stops at The Loopy Ewe. This rather large yarn shop in Fort Collins was seriously overwhelming. Other than fiber festivals, I have never seen so much yarn in one place. They must have every color of Cascade 220, not to mention a goodly supply of independently dyed yarns. At the beginning of the trip, I got some sock yarn.

IMG_7396

During my second stop on the tail end of our trip, I was lucky enough to be in the shop at the tail end of a Wollemeise update, and I was able to get a sweater quantity of the merino dk. I am not sure yet what this will become, but I am sure it will be fabulous.

IMG_7397

Other than the sweater, I did not get a huge amount of knitting done while I was gone. It turns out that knitting while hiking is a little challenging, especially when you are on the side of a mountain. But, I did manage to finish one sock.

IMG_7398

And work on this sweater back in the car.

IMG_7211

There was a little bit of fireside knitting, too.

IMG_7401

I was even able to cast on a new shawl project while relaxing at a friend’s house during the last couple of days of out vacation. More on this project another day.

Right now, I have to go and check on my bread dough. I really missed good bread while we were gone.

Posted on September 3, 2013, in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

