X Hits the Spot

Finally, I have made a TWD recipe! Between cookie recipe testing, our everyday busy school routine, and, just recently, running around test driving and buying a car, I feel like nothing else has been getting done. But, today, I was determined to make those X cookies, even if I am a day late and already tired from making three other batches of cookies this week. This is one I have been wanting to try for awhile because I have always liked fig newtons and they are supposed to be like those.

Amazingly, I had all the ingredients for the filling, except for the candied citrus. I only had candied citron, so I used those instead, but I think it would be good with candied ginger, too.

IMG_7513

The fig paste filling was very sticky, so I knew it would not get too dry in the oven, but that made it a little hard to work with.

IMG_7514

After having my dough stick to the counter on my first roll, I started using plastic wrap to help me put the cookies together. This is not a neat process.

IMG_7515

I was so tired from my busy morning that I only managed to make ten cookies before I had to have a little rest.

IMG_7517

But, first, I had to try one of them. The verdict? Well, I really like them. One of my boys likes them, but the other one doesn’t. Well, you really have to be a figgy person to like them. The filling is a little less sweet and definitely more complex than the mass market variety. They are certainly one of the most fiddly cookies I have ever made (hence the lie down after just making 1/6th of them), but on a day when I have more energy, I think I wouldn’t mind. As it is, I am thinking about putting everything in the fridge and finishing tomorrow. We’ll see how that works out. I’ll let you know.

Posted on October 2, 2013, in Baking, Tuesdays with Dorie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It was a long process of rolling out logs. But thankfully we loved the finished product. I think next time I might make them into bars…though the X’s are pretty darn cute!

  2. They look delicious and pretty, too. You’ve also just reminded me that I want to try making German style pretzels some time soon. That could be a bit fiddly, but not as fiddly as those X’es.

  3. I skipped these, but they do look good!

Tell me what you think!

