All is Revealed

Do you like surprises? In our house, we love surprises, especially when it comes to gift giving and birthdays. During the past few weeks, I have been spending all my time on surprises so secret that I could not even share them here with you.

Until now.

Now, I can reveal everything I have been working on for the past few weeks because the husband’s birthday has finally come and gone!

First, there was a little surprise birthday party/poker game with his buddies. This was quite a challenge to execute in our little house. Finding space to hide the cake in the fridge and all the other party drinks and food was difficult, but I managed. It all came off remarkably well and he was genuinely surprised, yay!

IMG_7539

There are no really good pictures of the actual event, since the boys and I went to spend the night at a friend’s house so that the men could have their man-time undisturbed, but I have an after picture of the cake.

This is the triple chocolate cake from The Cake Bible, which is the husband’s favorite chocolate cake. If you like chocolate, this is the cake for you. The shell on the outside always gives me fits and this time was no exception, but it is supposed to be a rugged looking cake, so whatever happens with the outside, it always ends up looking impressive.

IMG_7511

The cake is a chocolate genoise, soaked with spiked sugar syrup, filled with a whipped chocolate ganache, and surrounded by a hazelnut praline chocolate shell. The hazelnut praline really makes the cake phenomenal and it is easy to make, too.

The other thing I have been working on for weeks for the husband is this.

IMG_7523

It’s been really hard not blogging about this or sharing my ups and downs with this project with you, but I was forced to be silent to keep this a surprise, since the husband is one of my most faithful readers.

This sweater was started back in June or July. I couldn’t work on it for almost the whole of August because of our vacation. Before we left, I really only had about 6 inches or so of the body done.

IMG_7520

For the last 5 weeks or so, I have been working on this every chance I had when he wasn’t around. If you have noticed that I have been absent more lately, now you know why. Who has time for cooking, cleaning, and blogging when one has a fair isle deadline?

The last two weeks were the toughest while I was doing all the steeking and finishing the sleeves. My only complaint is that I hate knitting fair isle on double pointed needles. Hate it. It’s very difficult for me to keep my stitches evenly spaced. I won’t go on about it now that it’s done, but let me just say that I barely finished this sweater without throwing it on the floor and stomping on it.

IMG_7574

Look, it fits! And I think he likes it.

Other than the end and some other ahem design features along the way that I won’t get into, it was fun to knit. The pattern is basically one I made up as I went along. I picked the motifs last year when I made a test hat for the husband for Christmas (see it on his head?). All the color shifting is done by that great yarn I used, Kauni Effektgarn. I love, love this stuff and I may have a little stockpile of it. It is very difficult for me not to buy more every time I see it, I love it so much. It’s perfect for fair isle.

So, now that all the secret stuff is done, I am hoping to get back into a more regular routine of everything. In particular, I need to find my cooking mojo. It seems to have left for vacation when we did two months ago, but has yet to return. Also, I have some new knitting projects to show you, but that will have to wait for another day.

Posted on October 8, 2013, in Baking, Family Fun, Finished, Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Holy smokes!!!! I’m as surprised as I’m sure hubby was!! You must be the best wife ever…you put the rest of us also-rans to shame 🙂 Nicely done!

  2. Mind. Blown.

Tell me what you think!

