Fall Magic

What can I say about an autumn week in the New York countryside that includes perfect weather, lots of yarn, campfires, and wonderful people?

IMG_7613

IMG_7645

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, everything shimmered with color, laughter, and fun.

IMG_7615

It was literally raining leaves all the time. The ground was ankle deep in leaves.

IMG_7620

Bright, vibrant colors were everywhere.

IMG_7626

It was heaven for the boys.

IMG_7628

Oh yeah, and there was the New York Sheep and Wool festival at Rhinebeck, which was more amazing than usual for me, mostly because of the wonderful people I got to meet and hang out with.

IMG_7638

I was enjoying the experience so much that I really took very few pictures. I was soaking in the atmosphere, talking with the lovely friends I had only known online until then, and, of course, shopping.

IMG_7670

Mostly, I bought sweater quantities of yarn. I resisted all those pretty skeins of sock yarn (there has been a lot of sock yarn stash enhancement this year already).

IMG_7677

After the festival, I took a couple of classes with Anne Hansen of Knitspot. Those classes were eye-opening for sure. Who knew that I was sewing all my seams wrong all this time? Well, maybe not wrong, but not in the best possible way. Seriously, if you have a chance to take a class with Anne, do it. It is worth every penny.

IMG_7648

Coming back home was a bit of a jolt this week. I am already looking forward to next year and I hope I get to see you there.

Posted on October 25, 2013, in Family Fun, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Tell me what you think!

