Random Happenings

It’s happened to me again. I am not sure when I will ever stop being surprised by my lack of free time or my crazy busy schedule. Somehow, I have it in my head that whenever X event is over, I am going to have a relaxing time when I have less in the way of obligations. Inevitably, whenever X is over, a big Y event comes to take its place and so on until it sort of seems normal to be exhausted at the end of every day. Honestly, though, I am not upset or even bitter about it, though I admit to having moments of whiny-ness. It’s all good stuff and I am happy as a clam to do it all. I just wish I had the energy of a 10 year old and the stamina of a marathon runner.

We came back from Rhinebeck and dove headfirst into our annual cookie dough fundraiser project.

IMG_7680

The project seems to be getting bigger every year and I find myself brainstorming of ways to make the process more streamlined and organized. The boys are great at helping out in every step of the process. They skinned four pounds of hazelnuts by hand one afternoon.

IMG_7683

The older one has been trying his hand at scooping and weighing when my hand gets tired. It takes longer for them to help sometimes, but this is their service project for the year, and I hope it helps them to appreciate how much work it is to make good food.

IMG_7682

Over the weekend, I started a new sock, even though I am feeling a bit overwhelmed by all the unfinished knitting projects I have laying about. Somehow, I’ve got myself in a place where I am half done with four sweaters plus one for the older son which I have just started.

IMG_7684

Plus, I really need to get some sewing done sometime. Maybe when the fund raiser is over, I will have some more free time for knitting and sewing. See? I’m doing it again. I’m going to stop thinking about it all and go take a nap now.

Posted on October 29, 2013, in Baking, Family Fun, Knitting, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Tell me what you think!

