Progress at Last

It’s been ages since I’ve posted any knitting progress, mostly because things have been so busy with other things that I haven’t had much time for knitting. That, and I was bouncing back and forth between projects because there wasn’t one that seemed especially compelling. The great thing is that all those rows here and there do eventually add up and become measurable progress, except for that sweater that had to be ripped out entirely, but we won’t speak of that now. Right now we will focus on progress.

All my pieces for blumchen are finished and there’s just some seaming to do.

IMG_7759

I am a little apprehensive about this one. The pieces stretched more than I was expecting after their bath and I think it may be too long for me now. I’ll get back to you on how that turns out.

The mystery shawl knit along is also finished. This one was a weird one to block. I redid it three times and then finally had to embrace the ruffley edge and declare it good enough. It’s my first ruffley edged anything, so it took awhile to get use to the idea, but I think I like it now.

IMG_7758

The shawl looked like a pile of scrunched up yarn before it was blocked, so I am pleased with how it blocked out, especially since the yarn was so thin in spots that I was worried it would break while blocking. There were no disasters (that have been discovered yet), so I am pretty happy all around with the results.

Now, I am one to the next series of projects by a new to me designer, Romi. She’s just started a series of patterns called the Great Oddments Knitdown, which is a collection of 15-18 projects using about one ball of yarn each. I am hoping it will help me use up some leftover yarn balls and bits from past projects that have multiplied around the house. Plus, it might give me some instant gratification in my pile of long-term knitting projects.

IMG_7790

So far, I am off to a good start. The first pattern came out on Friday and I was finished with the knitting before the weekend was over. All it needs now is a little blocking and a big pom-pom. I also managed to finish an old multicolored quincy hat that had been on the needles for a couple of years and the first of a pair of socks. It was a productive knitting weekend for me. I am looking forward to a nice long holiday weekend full of knitting progress. How about you?

Posted on November 26, 2013, in Finished, Knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oooh! The shawl is amazing! Love the way the color shifted!

Tell me what you think!

