12 Days of Christmas Cookies Give Away + FFwD

Doesn’t everyone love cookies? I know we do. A cookie is just right at any time of day; morning snack, after school snack, bedtime snack, not to mention dessert. During the holidays, it seems that cookies show up everywhere. People give them away as gifts or they get together with friends and family to decorate cookies or they go to a cookie exchange. For the person who doesn’t like to bake as much as I do, cookie exchanges are a great way to get a variety of cookies without putting in all the hours in the kitchen.

Every year at Christmas time, I make a lot of cookies. I make it a point to try some new cookie recipes as well as make some old favorites. Inevitably, we end up with way more cookies than we could possibly eat. That’s where one of you dear readers can help me. For the next twelve days, I will be making cookies. Every day, I will post about whatever cookie I am making, and, at the end of the twelve days, I will give away a tin of cookies!

Before I give you all the details, let me talk about today’s cookie, which is also the recipe scheduled for French Fridays with Dorie. Yes, yes, I have been rather absent from that group lately; life has been busier than ever and I have frankly lost my cooking mojo. But, when I saw Orange Almond Tuiles on the schedule, I knew I would at least have to try them. Though I have long admired the look of tuiles, I have never ventured to make them because they seem incredibly finicky.

IMG_7814

The dough is easy enough. I just chopped up almonds in the food processor and used some clementine juice, since I had no orange juice. Also, I did not get enough juice from one clementine, so I added some orange flower water to make up the difference. I love the smell of that stuff! Then, the dough went in the fridge for its overnight rest.

IMG_7816

The next day, I fired up the oven and baked one pan just exactly as the directions specified.

IMG_7818

They came out looking beautiful, but were an incredible pain to get off the pan. Ugh. The first one was the best one. The rest of them either broke or got all wrinkled up. Here’s the nice looking ones from the first batch. They are more oval than round and, though they look pretty enough, when you see the unwrinkled ones, you will think these are kinda on the ugly side.

IMG_7820

I know Dorie says not to line the pan, but I couldn’t bear the thought of going through that again, so I baked six more cookies on parchment, with my convection fan on to see what would happen.

IMG_7823

Success! The first couple were too soft when I tried to take them off, but the other four were a breeze.

IMG_7824

Big sigh of relief. The best part is that they didn’t wrinkle up, so the lacey effect stayed intact.

IMG_7827

The orange flower water really made these cookies smell divine. I could not eat one because of a dental appointment I had in the morning, but my kids each had two and they thought they were delicious. It’s more candy than cookie, really, so of course they would like them.

I’ve got plans to bake the rest sometime over the weekend and hopefully, I can eat one in a day or so. I think that if I can get the timing right on removing the cookies from the pan, they will be both easy and beautiful. Actually, I bet you wouldn’t even need to take them off the parchment until they are cool unless you wanted the curved effect.

IMG_7826

I am going to put them in a tin and see how long they last. They would be beautiful in a Christmas cookie tin, which brings me back to my cookie tin giveaway!

Just like last year’s give away, you may enter by leaving one comment per post. To make things interesting, I may have you answer a question; nothing too hard. I’m not looking to make this a trivia contest, but I would love to get to know some of my readers a little better! Only one comment per person will be counted per post, but if you leave a comment for all twelve days, you will be entered twelve times! The tin will mostly likely include many of the cookies featured in the posts, but perhaps not all of them because not all cookies travel well or keep well. Plus, I will be trying some new recipes, so there may be a flop or two. However, I will try to ensure that the winner has a nice variety! Because of perishability issues, I will have to limit this to a domestic (that is, just the United States) contest. That way, the winner can be sure to get their cookies in a timely manner before Christmas. Comments on all 12 posts must be received by midnight, December 17, eastern standard time. I will pick a winner at random on the 18th. Hopefully, I can ship the tin of cookies by the 19th.

Ok, so, who wants some cookies?

Posted on December 6, 2013, in Baking, French Fridays with Dorie, Holiday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 25 Comments.

  1. I love cookies and I have to admit as I’ve gotten older I prefer citrus flavored cookies like lemon and orange!

  2. how smart to find a way to make these work! Almond- orange sounds divine. I agree with you about the beauty of cookies. Wh ebb there are none in my house it just seems wrong!

  3. Karen Glotzbach

    You never cease to amaze me with your generosity, Carie! I can’t wait to see what cookies you make each day…. I remember making similar lace cookies once – they were delicious, but I don’t recall being able to keep them long. I’ll be anxious to see if you can devise a way to keep them for gift giving…

  4. Good for you! You are the only post I’ve read so far that thought these worth the effort. I wish I had used parchment! A Christmas tin with cookies is a very nice idea!

  5. These are beautiful. Sorry you had trouble without the parchment though.

  6. I love your large ones.. the lace is fantastic in your cookies. Really well done… I think they should hold up well in a tin, they are stronger than they appear and their stickiness will keep them moist.

  7. Ooh, Orange Flower Water is magical. I have some in the cupboard for no better reason than to sniff it occasionally. The cookies look irresistible!

  8. I want cookies!! 😉 lol. Your cookies are delicious!

  9. Love these cookies but I agree, the finicky element is big! I’ve never tried orange flower water but it sounds wonderful! Happy baking!

  10. They sound devine!

  11. They came out lovely! They look perfect! I also used parchment, after losing two trays of cookies!

  12. i’ve never made tuiles either, carie. i’ve always been reluctant for the same reason as you! (also, the prospect of winning some of your cookies is too yummy to resist!)

  13. Maybe mine would have worked better with the parchment paper. Your twist on orange flavors with the floral orange flower water and clementine juice sounds over the top! I hope you enjoyed a few after your dental appointment.

  14. What a generous (and delicious) prize you are offering! I’m looking forward to seeing what other yummy treats you create. I have not made these cookies before, but parchment paper is one of my kitchen’s “must have” supplies. It makes clean up much easier!

  15. You did good! Will try again with parchment for the balance of the batter. I have seen how-to-do-tuiles-video that you put the cookies while still on the parchment over the rolling pin and peel off when cool!

  16. I’m going to try these today – seeing your success with the parchment makes me want to disobey Dorie and give it a try….

  17. I remember burning my fingers when attempting tuilles. Granted, I was only 12 years old at the time, but I believed I could do anything then.

  18. yum!!! looks great!!

  19. These look really neat.

  20. I did love the smell the orange juice gave these cookies!

  21. These cookies are so lovely on a cookie plate. I’ve long admired them in cookbooks, but never tried making them. Kudos to you!

  22. Very wise to use the parchment – these were pretty when they worked 🙂

  23. Beautiful…I’ve never made tuiles…these sound delicious with the orange flavor.

  24. I love the idea of orange flower water with these. Yours were much more successful than mine, which I finally caught up on last week.

Tell me what you think!

