Day 2: Nibby Pecan

Oh, I love a good refrigerator cookie. They are really the backbone of a Christmas cookie tin. The dough is easy to make. You usually form it into a nice log, and then stick them in the refrigerator or freezer. There, they wait until you are ready.

IMG_7832

Today’s cookie is one I have been making every year for many years. Many people think that it is a chocolate chip cookie, and they are not totally wrong, but not quite right either. These cookies have cocoa nibs in them instead of bits of chocolate. Nibs are basically tiny little bits of the roasted cocoa bean. It’s really just raw chocolate; no added sugar, milk or other flavorings. It tastes like chocolate, sort of. They are a little crunchy, but have a wonderful flavor that is difficult to describe.

IMG_7828

This is a recipe that I got many years ago, just when Scharffenberger was becoming popular and artisan chocolates had not yet taken over the chocolate market. On a whim, I bought a box of cocoa nibs and the recipe for this cookie was included in the box. Now, I don’t know about you, but I don’t often pay attention to recipes that come on boxes and bags of ingredients, but this one caught my eye because it was from Alice Medrich, a very well known chocolatier. This lady knows her chocolate, so I decided to give the recipe a try and I have never looked back.

IMG_7830

These cookies are part shortbread, part chocolate chip cookie, and part pecan sandie. Together, they are divine. The best part about these cookies is that they get better with age. The fragrance of the cocoa nibs becomes more intense as the cookies sit and they really make the cookie much more than their plain looks suggest. Try them and see for yourself.

IMG_7833

Don’t forget to leave a comment to increase your chances of winning the cookie tin. See yesterday’s post for more details. Tell me, what is your “must have” Christmas cookie?

_______________________________________________________________________________

NIBBY PECAN
Adapted from Alice Medrich’s book BIttersweet.
makes about 48 cookies

1 cup pecan halves, toasted lightly in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes and chopped coarsely.
8 ounces unsalted butter (2 Sticks) at room temperature
5.25 ounces (3/4 cup) granulated sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 teaspoons bourbon (optional, but oh so yummy!)
1.5 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/3 cup cocoa nibs
10 ounces (2 cups) all purpose flour

Combine butter, sugar, salt, bourbon, and vanilla in a bowl and cream together using an electric mixer or large wooden spoon. It should be smooth and creamy but not fluffy. Stir in the pecans and cocoa nibs. Add all the flour at once and mix until just combined.

Turn out the dough onto a big piece of parchment and form into a 12 long, 2 inch diameter log. Wrap in the parchment and refrigerate until solid. At this point, you can also freeze them for up to a few months. To continue, just thaw overnight in the refrigerator.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Slice the log into 1/4 inch pieces and arrange two inches apart on a baking sheet lined with parchment. To bake more than one pan at a time, make sure your oven racks are spaced evenly and rotate the pans in the middle of baking. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until golden brown at the edges.

For best flavor, store in an airtight container for at least a day. These keep well for at least a month. Perfect for a Christmas tin!

Posted on December 7, 2013, in Baking, Holiday, Recipe and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Those look delicious! I am going to find some cocoa nibs and make this recipe! Thanks! Christmas would not be Christmas in my house without our family rugulach recipe. Yes, it is a Jewish cookie but we are ecumenical like that! The recipe is on my blog!

  2. Hello, these look delicious. I once made some brownies from a scharffenberger wrapper/box. According to my daughter they were perfect. Unfortunately I didn’t keep the wrapper.

  3. Those cookies look so cool.

  4. Karen Glotzbach

    I don’t think I’ve ever baked with cocoa nibs before – do you order them online or can you find them locally? These cookies are so pretty! I am going to try them for a cookie exchange that I’ll be attending later this month…

    The holidays just aren’t the same, in my opinion, without Russian Teacakes. I just love them! Do you make them for the holidays?

  5. Yummy cookies! I am tempted to add them to my “to do” list! I am also curious about the cocoa nibs …. Merry Christmas!

  6. Yummmmm these look good!

    My must have cookie? Any that I find I have the energy to make LOL I often make chocolate chip so I can share with a friend. Every now and then I do sugar cookies in holiday shapes and decorate them – I’ve been playing around with natural color dyes

  7. Sounds so good! I may even try these.

  8. O, chocolate nibs,
    O, chocolate nibs,
    How lovely are your flavors.

  9. Wow! Your bake is so pretty! =)

  10. I do like refrigerator cookies. Mostly because you can make them one day and bake them another day. These look delicious, Carie!

  11. I may have to try this, even though I haven’t baked in ages. All my favorite flavors!

    I’m reminded of the buttery walnut balls rolled in powdered sugar that my ex’s Swedish mother used to make along with her delectable Pepperkorker (I’ve probably misspelled that). Now I’m hungry!

  12. These sound great. I have a similar recipe for nibby butter cookies that I’ve been meaning to try.

Tell me what you think!

