Day 5: Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Every year, I always make some type of biscotti for the cookie tin. They keep for a long time and you can make them festive looking with cranberries and pistachios. Sometimes, I do cherries and chocolate instead. The husband likes lemon and anise seed. They are wonderful dipped in tea or coffee and have relatively little fat, for a cookie that is.

IMG_7887

This year, I made a recipe from an America’s Test Kitchen publication. They are very protective of their copyrights, so I can’t post the recipe here, especially since I did not change it much at all. You can find the recipe in this magazine though.

IMG_7888

There are plenty of other recipes for biscotti out there. This one looks really good and very similar. I sometimes drizzle chocolate on the biscotti, but I probably won’t this time.

IMG_7889

In case you have access to the recipe I used, I increased the recipe by 50% and made the logs a little longer and wider. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of orange extract to enhance the orange juice that is added to the cranberries. The dough seemed really sticky to me, so I had to use a little extra flour to shape them.

They are delicious, though not as rock hard as some other biscotti out there. That’s probably a good thing for my teeth and just means they are extra versatile. They are not so hard you can’t eat them alone, but hard enough that they still make good dippers.

Today, we’ve had another snow day. I have loved reading everyone’s comments about the snow! Snow makes me very happy. I’ve spent most of the day making cookies, but am looking forward to a nice walk in a bit. What do you like to do on a snow day?

Posted on December 10, 2013, in Holiday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’ve been trying to clear the house enough to get the Christmas decorations! Tomorrow I will make cookies, though; I promise.

  2. Drool…..I love pistachios!

  3. Knitting of course! I’ve never had biscotti.

  4. Today, I was in the kitchen for most of the day. From the kitchen I had a great view of the beautiful snow. I made stew, did some laundry, and, w/Emma, baked 3 kinds of cookies. We stayed in our pjs for most of the day!

  5. Make and eat snow ice cream (fresh snow only)! I am sure it is not exactly recommended to do that anymore, but I love it anyway. And let’s face it, I live in Houston, so I don’t get snow ice cream very often!

  6. Biscotti dipped in coffee or tea is such a lovely way to start the day – and yours looks delicious! I know what I’m doing on my next snow day…..making biscotti! πŸ™‚

  7. yum these look really good too! I have a friend at work that makes biscotti πŸ™‚

    I love to go for walks in the woods on snow days – if I can get to the woods – otherwise, walks in the neighborhood – especially at night when everything is finally so quiet!

  8. I’ve never made biscotti, but I sure like to munch on it – I love how chock full of goodies yours is!

    I really don’t mind shoveling snow (as long as it’s not too heavy). It gets me outdoors and enjoying the fresh air. I used to love skiing, but haven’t been able to go in recent years. I am a tiny bit jealous that you got snow and we didn’t! Staying indoors and just looking out the window with a cup of hot tea or cocoa is always a pleasant way to enjoy the snow too!

  9. I need to cook more, think I will have to plan some cookie making time. I usually knit and read on snow days. I also tend to sit on the couch with the remote in my hand going through the channels trying to find something that says “watch me”. Didn’t have much luck finding anything to hold my attention yesterday.

  10. Crunchy, but not TOO crunchy…that’s the trick with biscotti in my opinion. Yours look especially yummy.

Tell me what you think!

