Day 10: Walnut Spice

Here’s another cookie that I find that I cannot do without during Christmas time. I think I may be the only one who really loves them in my house. It’s not that the others don’t like them; they just like other ones better. But not me. This one and the ginger cookies from earlier are two cookies that I make mostly for myself.

IMG_7947

They are crispy and nutty and spicy and very good keepers. You can find the recipe here. I did not do the egg wash with this recipe either. I wish I had more time to say more, but we’ve got lots going on today. You know how it is this time of year!

What is your favorite holiday activity? I love to sing carols, especially old ones.

Posted on December 15, 2013, in Baking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. These days,my favorite holiday activity is knitting the gifts! But eating cookies is definitely moving up the list!

  2. I have to agree that knitting the gifts is up there but I’m getting too close for comfort. My favorite cookies are really holiday related, they are a chocolate cookie my grandmother used to make.

  3. Sorry, they aren’t really holiday related.

  4. Excellent idea to make a cookie that is your favorite – especially when the family members like other recipes better! šŸ˜‰ And good for you for taking the time to treat yourself to something you enjoy.

    My favorite activity has to be decorating the tree. We have a ton of ornaments the boys made when they were young. Many with pictures and handprints. Since they are packed away all year, it is always fun to pull them out, reflect, and share memories.

    • Katie, I just finished decorating my tree. It is so much fun to dig out the ornaments my sons made when they were young. Brings back a lot of sweet memories.

  5. I love a spicy, crunchy cookie. bonus that they are good keepers, too!

  6. my DBF and I just started talking about making a batch of cookies or two – these look yummy!

    I love the holiday music – listen to all varieties!

  7. Opening presents with family. I love simple recipes, since i don’t bake much.

  8. Mmmm. A favorite holiday activity? Finding streets ask lot you with Christmas lights and driving through with my family oohing and aahing.

  9. With the title of these cookies I did not expect a cutout cookie – they sound very good!

    Favorite holiday activity – doing our annual adult swap (the kind with the stealing of various gifts) – so much laughter and memories of past years…

Tell me what you think!

